The Silver Gate by Kristin BaileyThe Silver Gate by Kristin Bailey

The Silver Gate

byKristin Bailey

Paperback | March 6, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$7.65 online 
$8.50 list price save 10%
Earn 38 plum® points

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

A "tender and magical"* fairy-tale retelling

In shepherd boy Elric’s tiny village, people think children like his younger sister, Wynn, are changelings—left by fairies and doomed to curse all around them. As a baby, Wynn was born with developmental delays, and according to the rules, she was supposed to be abandoned in the woods.

Instead Elric’s mother saved his sister and hid her away for eleven years. They live in secret and fear of being discovered, yet their home is full of love, laughter, and singing. Wynn and Elric’s favorite song is about the Silver Gate, a beautiful fairy realm where all children are welcome.

But when their long-absent father returns to sell Wynn to the Lord’s castle as a maid, Elric realizes that folk songs and fantasies can’t protect them from the outside world. They have to run away. Still Wynn believes there’s only one place they’ll ever be safe, and it lies beyond the Silver Gate.

The road to freedom is long and treacherous. If they have any hope for survival, Elric and Wynn must learn to depend on each other above everything else—and discover the magic that always reveals itself when it seems like all is lost.

*Kirkus

Kristin Bailey grew up in the middle of the San Joaquin Valley in California. In the course of her adventures, she has worked as a zookeeper, balloon artist, and substitute teacher. Now she writes books for tweens and teens who enjoy magic and adventure as much as she does. Learn more at http://www.kristinbailey.com
Into The Nightfell Wood
Into The Nightfell Wood

by Kristin Bailey

$18.69$21.00

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Shadow of the War Machine
Shadow of the War Machine

by Kristin Bailey

$19.57$21.99

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Not available in stores

Rise of the Arcane Fire
Rise of the Arcane Fire

by Kristin Bailey

$13.40$14.99

In stock online

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:The Silver GateFormat:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.98 inPublished:March 6, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006239858X

ISBN - 13:9780062398581

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Silver Gate

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Bailey deftly explores bullying and the definition of ‘normal.’ This polished, charming story is a perfect fit for fans of Shannon Hale and Jessica Day George’s fairy-tale retellings as well as an excellent choice for elementary school book discussion groups.”