The Simple Art of Flying by Cory LeonardoThe Simple Art of Flying by Cory Leonardo

The Simple Art of Flying

byCory Leonardo

Hardcover | February 12, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.53 online 
$23.99 list price save 10%
Earn 108 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

“Delightfully quirky.” —Kirkus Reviews

Perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, this irresistible debut novel combines plucky humor and a whole lot of heart in a story about the true meaning of family.

Sometimes flying means keeping your feet on the ground…

Born in a dismal room in a pet store, Alastair the African grey parrot dreams of escape to bluer skies. He’d like nothing more than to fly away to a palm tree with his beloved sister, Aggie. But when Aggie is purchased by twelve-year-old Fritz, and Alastair is adopted by elderly dance-enthusiast and pie-baker Albertina Plopky, the future looks ready to crash-land.

In-between anxiously plucking his feathers, eating a few books, and finding his own poetic voice, Alastair plots his way to a family reunion. But soon he’s forced to choose between the life he’s always dreamed of and admitting the truth: that sometimes, the bravest adventure is in letting go.
Title:The Simple Art of FlyingFormat:HardcoverDimensions:384 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.2 inPublished:February 12, 2019Publisher:AladdinLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1534420991

ISBN - 13:9781534420991

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

"Warmhearted, delightfully quirky, and believable." —Kirkus Reviews "Reminiscent of The One and Only Ivan’s storytelling, Leonardo has crafted a tale that will have readers rooting for each character . . . A witty animal-centered story that will remind readers that families come in many shapes and sizes." —School Library Journal "This is a book about animals, friendship, and love, but mostly about how everyone needs to be loved and needed, whether they are an animal or a human." —School Library Connection