The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel

September 1, 2015|
The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel by Sally Christie
$21.36 
$23.00 save 7%
Paperback
Earn 107 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Ships within 1-3 weeks.Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Buy In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

“An intriguing romp through Louis XV''s France. Filled with lush backdrops, rich detail, and colorful characters, fans of historical fiction will enjoy this glimpse into the lost golden era of the French monarchy.” —Allison Pataki, author of The Accidental Empress

“Tantalizing descriptions and cliff-hangers will leave the reader rapidly turning the pages in anticipation…A wickedly delightful read.” —New York Daily News


Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best feet—and women—forward. The King’s scheming ministers push sweet, naïve Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, she and three of her younger sisters—ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne—will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power as each becomes the king’s favorite for a time.

In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie’s stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood—of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.
Sally Christie is the author of The Sisters of Versailles and The Rivals of Versailles. She was born in England and grew up around the world, attending eight schools in three different languages. She spent most of her career working in international development and currently lives in Toronto. Visit SallyChristieAuthor.com to find out m...
Loading
Title:The Sisters of Versailles: A Novel
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:432 pages, 8.25 X 5.31 X 1.1 in
Shipping dimensions:432 pages, 8.25 X 5.31 X 1.1 in
Published:September 1, 2015
Publisher:Atria Books
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781501102967

Recently Viewed
|