The Sky At Our Feet

Hardcover | March 6, 2018

byNadia Hashimi

not yet rated|write a review

In the tradition of Rebecca Stead and Thanhha Lai, this adventurous and emotionally-charged #ownvoices novel by New York Times bestselling author Nadia Hashimi shows the fierce love of a family determined not to be torn apart.

Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it’s hard to feel American now when he’s terrified that his mother will be discovered—and that they will be separated.

When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he’s overestimated what he can do.

After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungle—even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they won’t be able to run forever.

From the author of One Half from the East comes a timely and affecting story about one family in an impossible situation, pulled right from today’s headlines about immigration, who are willing to move mountains to stay together.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.69
$21.00 list price save 11%
Pre-order online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

In the tradition of Rebecca Stead and Thanhha Lai, this adventurous and emotionally-charged #ownvoices novel by New York Times bestselling author Nadia Hashimi shows the fierce love of a family determined not to be torn apart. Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father ...

Nadia Hashimi was born and raised in New York and New Jersey. Both her parents were born in Afghanistan and left in the early 1970s, before the Soviet invasion. Nadia is the author of three books for adults, as well as the middle grade novel One Half from the East. She is a pediatrician and lives with her family in the Washington, DC s...

other books by Nadia Hashimi

The Pearl That Broke Its Shell: A Novel
The Pearl That Broke Its Shell: A Novel

Mass Market Paperback|Apr 25 2017

$9.99

A House Without Windows: A Novel
A House Without Windows: A Novel

Paperback|Aug 16 2016

$19.69$21.99list pricesave 10%
When The Moon Is Low: A Novel
When The Moon Is Low: A Novel

Mass Market Paperback|Apr 25 2017

$9.99

see all books by Nadia Hashimi
Format:HardcoverDimensions:272 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.98 inPublished:March 6, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006242193X

ISBN - 13:9780062421937

Customer Reviews of The Sky At Our Feet

Reviews