The Sky At Our Feet by Nadia HashimiThe Sky At Our Feet by Nadia Hashimi

The Sky At Our Feet

byNadia Hashimi

Hardcover | March 6, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.69 online 
$21.00 list price save 11%
Earn 93 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s.

Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it’s hard to feel American now when he’s terrified that his mother will be discovered—and that they will be separated.

When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he’s overestimated what he can do.

After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungle—even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they won’t be able to run forever.

Nadia Hashimi was born and raised in New York and New Jersey. Both her parents were born in Afghanistan and left in the early 1970s, before the Soviet invasion. Nadia is the author of three books for adults, as well as the middle grade novel One Half from the East. She is a pediatrician and lives with her family in the Washington, DC s...
Loading
Title:The Sky At Our FeetFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.01 inPublished:March 6, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006242193X

ISBN - 13:9780062421937

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The story is fast-paced and engaging with sympathetic protagonists who raise thought-provoking contemporary issues. An absorbing read.”