The Sonnets: A Dual-language Edition With Parallel Text by Jorge Luis BorgesThe Sonnets: A Dual-language Edition With Parallel Text by Jorge Luis Borges

The Sonnets: A Dual-language Edition With Parallel Text

byJorge Luis BorgesEditorSuzanne Jill Levine, Stephen Kessler

Paperback | March 30, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.27 online 
$21.00 list price
Earn 101 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


The complete sonnets of one of the greatest writers of the twentieth century—in English and Spanish

This landmark collection brings together for the first time in any language all of the sonnets of one of the greatest writers of the twentieth century. More intimate and personally revealing than his fiction, and more classical in form than the inventive metafictions that are his hallmark, the sonnets reflect Borges in full maturity, paying homage to many of his literary and philosophical paragons—Cervantes, Milton, Whitman, Emerson, Joyce, Spinoza—while at the same time engaging the mysteries immanent in the quotidian.
A distinguished team of translators—Edith Grossman, Willis Barnstone, John Updike, Mark Strand, Robert Fitzgerald, Alastair Reid, Charles Tomlinson, and Stephen Kessler—lend their gifts to these sonnets, many of which appear here in English for the first time, and all of which accompany their Spanish originals on facing pages.
Jorge Luis Borges was born in Buenos Aires in 1989 and was educated in Europe. One of the most widely acclaimed writers of our time, he published many collections of poems, essays, and short stories before his death in Geneva in June 1986. In 1961 Borges shared the International Publisher’s prize with Samuel Beckett. The Ingram Merrill...
Title:The Sonnets: A Dual-language Edition With Parallel TextFormat:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 7.75 × 5 × 0.7 inPublished:March 30, 2010Publisher:Penguin Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0143106015

ISBN - 13:9780143106012


Read from the Book

"Music Box" by Jorge Luis BorgesMusic of Japan. Drops of slow honeyOr of invisible gold are dispersedIn a miserly way from a water clock,And repeat in time a weaving that isEternal, fragile, mysterious, and clear.I fear that each one may be the last.It's a past coming back. From what temple,From what fresh garden in the mountain,From what vigil before an unknown sea,From what shyness of melancholy,From what lost and ransomed afternoonDoes its remote future come to me?I cannot know. No matter. I amIn that music. I want to be. I bleed.

Editorial Reviews