The Sound Of Life And Everything

May 5, 2015|
The Sound Of Life And Everything by Krista Van Dolzer
$18.99
Hardcover
Earn 95 plum® points
1% of net proceeds from this book helps children in high-needs communities through the Indigo Love of Reading Foundation
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Not currently available.
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Buy In Store
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

A fascinating speculative historical fiction debut set in 1950s California—perfect for fans of When You Reach Me

Twelve-year-old Ella Mae Higbee is a sensible girl. She eats her vegetables and wants to be just like Sergeant Friday, her favorite character on Dragnet. So when her auntie Mildred starts spouting nonsense about a scientist who can bring her cousin back to life from blood on his dog tags, Ella Mae is skeptical—until he steps out of a bio-pod right before her eyes.

But the boy is not her cousin—he’s Japanese. And in California in the wake of World War II, the Japanese are still feared and despised. When her aunt refuses to take responsibility, Ella Mae and her Mama take him home instead. Determined to do what’s right by her new friend, Ella Mae teaches Takuma English and defends him from the reverend’s talk of H-E-double-toothpicks. But when his memories start to resurface, Ella Mae learns some shocking truths about her own family and more importantly, what it means to love.
Krista Van Dolzer (motherwrite.blogspot.com) is a stay-at-home mom by day and a children''s author by naptime. She holds degrees in Mathematics Education and Economics from Brigham Young University. She enjoys watching college football and researching her ancestors. This is her first book. Krista lives with her husband and three k...
Loading
Title:The Sound Of Life And Everything
Format:Hardcover
Product dimensions:272 pages, 8.5 X 5.75 X 1 in
Shipping dimensions:272 pages, 8.5 X 5.75 X 1 in
Published:May 5, 2015
Publisher:Penguin Young Readers Group
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9780399167751

Look for similar items by category:

Recently Viewed
|