The Spanish Promise by Karen SwanThe Spanish Promise by Karen Swan

The Spanish Promise

byKaren Swan

Paperback | May 1, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.70 online 
$24.99 list price save 41%
Earn 74 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The Spanish Promise is another sizzling summer novel from Globe and Mail bestselling author Karen Swan, set in the vibrant streets of Madrid, for fans of Victoria Hislop and Elin Hilderbrand.Charlotte, a wealth counsellor who knows from personal experience the complications that a sudden inheritance can bring, helps her clients navigate the emotional side effects of sudden wealth syndrome. When she is asked by Mateo Mendoza, heir to a huge Spanish estate, to fly to Madrid to help resolve an issue in his father's will, she's confident it will be straightforward. The timing isn't great as Charlotte's due to get married the following week, but once her client signs on the dotted line, she can return to her life in London and her wedding, and live happily ever after. Marrying Stephen might not fill her with excitement, but she doesn't want to live in the fast lane anymore - safe and predictable is good.But Carlos Mendoza's final bequest opens up a generation of secrets, and Charlotte finds herself compelled to unravel the mystery. As she digs deeper, Charlotte uncovers the story of a family divided by Spain's Civil War, and of a love affair across the battle lines that ended in tragedy.And while she is consumed in the drama of the Mendozas, Charlotte's own tragic past catches up with her, threatening to overturn everything in her life she's worked so hard to build.
Karen Swan began her career in fashion journalism before giving it all up to raise her three children and a puppy, and to pursue her ambition of becoming a writer. She lives in the forest outside Sussex, England, writing her books in a treehouse overlooking the Downs. An internationally bestselling author, her numerous books include T...
Loading
Title:The Spanish PromiseFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:384 pages, 9.22 × 6.18 × 1.17 inShipping dimensions:9.22 × 6.18 × 1.17 inPublished:May 1, 2019Publisher:Pan MacmillanLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1529006171

ISBN - 13:9781529006179

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spanish history The Spanish Promise by Karen Swan is a mystery, a family drama and a Spanish history lesson. Charlotte, a wealth advisor, is summoned to Madrid by Mateo Mendoza to sort out a problem with his father Carlos' estate. She plans to then quickly return to London for her wedding to Stephen. However, upon her arrival, she discovers that a resolution to the wealthy Mendoza issues will involve more than a few days of work. She will be required to investigate the Mendoza family history all the way back to the Spanish Civil War. While digging into their past, Charlotte stirs up an important and tragic segment of her own past, which complicates her stay in Madrid and threatens to delay her return to London at a crucial time. This novel, while addressing wealth and family troubles, also has secondary plots that keep the reader interested and focused. The final chapters are satisfying and unexpected. This will make a great summertime read. Thank you to Pan Macmillan and NetGalley for the e-ARC in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Evocative, mysterious, and incredibly enchanting! The Spanish Promise is an alluring, mesmerizing tale predominantly set in Spain during the late 1930s, as well as present day, that takes you into the lives of both the prosperous, successful, multi-generational Fairfax and Mendoza families. But like most families with money, power, and privilege everything is not always as it seems, and behind the designer clothes and beautiful houses hides an abundance of secrets, betrayals, scandals, rivalry, conflict, and heartbreak. The prose is seamless and eloquent. The characters are perceptive, intriguing, and scarred. And the plot, including all the subplots, intertwine and unravel effortlessly into a vividly satisfying tale of life, loss, family, friendship, self-discovery, regret, deception, love, duty, honor, and the turmoil of the Spanish Civil War. The Spanish Promise is another magical, heartwarming tale by Swan that does a beautiful job of highlighting her exceptional ability to portray memorable characters, idyllic places, and historically troubling times that stay with you long after you finish the final page.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for historical fiction fans! I’ve always been a big fan of Karen Swan novels. There are many qualities common to her stories that I love: A dual timeline, a strong female character in the historical timeline, and a bittersweet ending. All of these come into play in The Spanish Promise. As is usual for me, the timeline in the past was the most engaging and emotional. I actually wished we had seen more of Nene’s story and more about women in the war. It was fascinating how they were building bombs in the kitchen, then cleaning up and making dinner in the same room! In conflict the worst atrocities are always reserved for women and it was really difficult to read about the horrific fate they faced if caught. They were so incredibly brave to face not just death but a fate worse than death. The Spanish Promise introduced me to these heroes and this is a story that begs to be examined in more depth. Their stories deserve to be told and I’ll have to look into it more to see if there are other books written on the topic The modern day storyline was compelling in so far as it referenced back to the historical but the other aspects were less engaging. I didn’t like or relate to the main character Charlotte at all. I found her selfish, mean and pretty well insufferable. There wasn’t enough growth in her throughout the course of the book to change my mind. Her love interest was slightly less awful but not at all memorable. I just put the book down and I truthfully can’t recall his name (note: his name is Nathan.) This part of the story wasn’t bad or anything, it just paled in comparison to excitement and raw emotion of the historical portions. While the story set in the present day was not my favourite I did really enjoy the historical portions. I think that they were good enough to make up for the less moving parts and made this book totally worth reading. Karen Swan always manages to impress with her ability to depict kick-ass women in the past in a realistic and compassionate manner and to tell a darn fine story too! Thank you to Pan Macmillan for providing an Electronic Advance Reader Copy via NetGalley for review.
Date published: 2019-03-27