The Story Of Arthur Truluv: A Novel by Elizabeth BergThe Story Of Arthur Truluv: A Novel by Elizabeth Berg

The Story Of Arthur Truluv: A Novel

byElizabeth Berg

Hardcover | November 21, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$29.69 online 
$35.00 list price save 15%
Earn 148 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

“I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human.”—Fannie Flagg

An emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them

“Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Berg’s previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers’ heartstrings.”—Booklist

For the past six months, Arthur Moses’s days have looked the same: He tends to his rose garden and to Gordon, his cat, then rides the bus to the cemetery to visit his beloved late wife for lunch. The last thing Arthur would imagine is for one unlikely encounter to utterly transform his life. 

Eighteen-year-old Maddy Harris is an introspective girl who visits the cemetery to escape the other kids at school. One afternoon she joins Arthur—a gesture that begins a surprising friendship between two lonely souls. Moved by Arthur’s kindness and devotion, Maddy gives him the nickname “Truluv.” As Arthur’s neighbor Lucille moves into their orbit, the unlikely trio band together and, through heartache and hardships, help one another rediscover their own potential to start anew.

Wonderfully written and full of profound observations about life, The Story of Arthur Truluv is a beautiful and moving novel of compassion in the face of loss, of the small acts that turn friends into family, and of the possibilities to achieve happiness at any age.

Advance praise for The Story of Arthur Truluv

“I don't know if I’ve ever read a more affecting book about the natural affinity between the young and the elderly than Elizabeth Berg’s The Story of Arthur Truluv. It makes the rest of us—strivers and preeners and malcontents—seem almost irrelevant.”—Richard Russo, author of Everybody’s Fool

“Elizabeth Berg reminds us of both the richness of any human life and the heart’s needed resilience.”—Jane Hirshfield, author of The Beauty: Poems
Elizabeth Berg is the author of many bestselling novels, including Open House (an Oprah’s Book Club selection), Talk Before Sleep, and The Year of Pleasures, as well as the short story collection The Day I Ate Whatever I Wanted. Durable Goods and Joy School were selected as ALA Best Books of the Year. She adapted The Pull of the Moon i...
Loading
Title:The Story Of Arthur Truluv: A NovelFormat:HardcoverDimensions:240 pages, 8.51 × 5.7 × 0.93 inPublished:November 21, 2017Publisher:Random House Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1400069904

ISBN - 13:9781400069903

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Touching literary fiction. Highly recommended! "The story of Arthur Truluv" is a touching work of literary fiction. Told in a way that is not at all 'sappy', the book explores the themes of loneliness, aging, and family. I'm certain it will resonate with readers who enjoyed "A man called Ove" and "The storied life of A.J. Fikry". I know it will be near the top of my 'Best of 2017' list. I am so grateful that I had the opportunity to read it. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Touching literary fiction. Highly recommended! "The story of Arthur Truluv" is a touching work of literary fiction. Told in a way that is not at all 'sappy', the book explores the themes of loneliness, aging, and family. I'm certain it will resonate with readers who enjoyed "A man called Ove" and "The storied life of A.J. Fikry". I know it will be near the top of my 'Best of 2017' list. I am so grateful that I had the opportunity to read it. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it A story that renews faith and the human spirit
Date published: 2017-09-20

Editorial Reviews

“Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Berg’s previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers’ heartstrings.”—Booklist“Elizabeth Berg’s characters jump right off the page and into your heart. I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human.”—Fannie Flagg, author of The Whole Town’s Talking   “I don't know if I’ve ever read a more affecting book about the natural affinity between the young and the elderly than Elizabeth Berg’s The Story of Arthur Truluv. It makes the rest of us—strivers and preeners and malcontents—seem almost irrelevant.”—Richard Russo, author of Everybody’s Fool   “Elizabeth Berg reminds us of both the richness of any human life and the heart’s needed resilience.”—Jane Hirshfield, author of The Beauty: Poems