The Substitute by Nicole LundriganThe Substitute by Nicole Lundrigan

The Substitute

byNicole Lundrigan

Paperback | June 24, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.32 online 
$19.95 list price save 8%
Earn 92 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Warren Botts is a disillusioned Ph.D., taking a break from his lab to teach middle-school science. Gentle, soft-spoken, and lonely, he innocently befriends Amanda, one of his students. But one morning, Amanda is found dead in his backyard, and Warren, shocked, flees the scene.

As the small community slowly turns against him, an anonymous narrator, a person of extreme intelligence and emotional detachment, offers insight into events past and present. As the tension builds, we gain an intimate understanding of the power of secrets, illusions, and memories.

Nicole Lundrigan uses her prodigious talent to deliciously creepy effect, producing a finely crafted page-turner and a chilling look into the mind of a psychopath.

Nicole Lundrigan is the author of six critically acclaimed novels, including Glass Boys and The Widow Tree. Her most recent novel, The Substitute, was published in 2017. Her work has appeared on best of the year selections of the Globe and Mail and NOW Magazine and she has been longlisted for the ReLit Award. Born in Ottawa and raised ...
Loading
Title:The SubstituteFormat:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 8 × 5.25 × 0.68 inPublished:June 24, 2017Publisher:House Of Anansi Press IncLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1487002351

ISBN - 13:9781487002350

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thrilling Page Turner! Lundrigan is easily as good as Gillian Flynn. If you like Flynn's books as I do, you'll love this one too.
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HIGHLY recommend I have never been so enthralled by a book. Wonderfully written, and you don't learn who the narrator is until the final chapter. Excellent book, HIGHLY recommend.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't get past the first 30 pages I found the plot interesting (which is why I picked it up), but I didn't like the writing style. I found it hard to get into, but that's just me.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic It actually took me a few minutes to reflect on how I felt about this book before rating it. I flip-flopped between a 3- and 4-star rating. In the end, I have to admit that there was something about this book that I really liked. Even though it was gruesome and disturbing delving into the mind of a psychopath, I truly didn’t guess the ending until there were 20 pages left. The chapters following Warren were lengthy and boring but they added subtle hints throughout. The nameless psychopath was the true showstopper and it was because of them that I couldn’t put the book down.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Never saw that coming!! I finished reading The Substitute several nights ago and I'm still going over parts of the story in my head. How did I miss certain things? Were they right in front of me all the time? I'm going to read this one again. What a great mind she has, this was one twisted story. The ending threw me for a loop!
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you need something that Grabs you this is it!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you want a great read...this book had me from the get go! I enjoyed this book and could not put it down...and when you think you have it all figured out guess again because it throws you a couple of curve balls just to get you guessing again.....loved it from cover to cover!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great page turner I really enjoyed this novel, it had me hooked from the first page. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-08-11

Editorial Reviews

"Equal parts disturbing, suspenseful, and raw, The Substitute will have you holding your breath until the very last page." - Ian Hamilton, award-winning author of the Ava Lee series"Irresistibly clever! This creepy tale had me hooked right from the start." - Melanie Raabe, author of The Trap"A spine-chiller for readers who appreciate language and refined, well-crafted plots" - Quill and Quire"A feast for fans who miss Patricia Highsmith's and Margaret Millar's haunting anatomies of people as nice as pie except for their murders." - Kirkus Reviews"this psychological thriller will resonate with readers long after the last page is read." - Maple Tree Literary Supplement"Lundrigan's writing is both elegant and darkly humorous, delivering bare-knuckle social commentary that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Karin Fossum, and Laura Lippman." - Booklist"a captivating psychological thriller that balances secrets and lies with identity and family." - Mystery Scene"sly and clever thriller" - Publishers Weekly