The Sweet Scent Of Blood by Suzanne McLeod

The Sweet Scent Of Blood

bySuzanne McLeod

Kobo ebook | June 18, 2009

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$7.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

THE SWEET SCENT OF BLOOD is the first book of SPELLCRACKERS.COM, a sexy, sassy new series guaranteed to spice up your reading life, and perfect for fans of Kim Harrison.

Genevieve Taylor is a Sidhe, one of the noble fae, and she's unusual, even in present-day London where celebrity vampires, eccentric goblins and scheming lesser fae mix freely with the human population. Genny is a rising star at Spellcrackers.com, where she finds the `M' in magic - and that invariably leads to mischief, malice and - too often - murder.

Spellcrackers.com is affiliated to the Witch Council, whose ancient tenets prohibit any contact with vampires. Genny also works as a volunteer at a clinic which treats victims of vampire attacks. Then there's her extra-curricular activity, extracting vulnerable fae lured by the local fang gangs. Genny certainly doesn't wants any closer involvement with the vampire community.

But when Mr October, one of the hot calendar pin-up vamps, is accused of violently murdering his girlfriend, Genny's called on to repay an old debt and prove his innocence. And that means consorting with some of the sexiest vamps in London!

Details & Specs

Title:The Sweet Scent Of BloodFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:June 18, 2009Publisher:ORION PUBLISHING GROUPLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0575087412

ISBN - 13:9780575087415

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Sweet Scent Of Blood

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sweet Start to a new Series The Sweet Scent of Blood is the first book in a new urban fantasy series called Spellscrackers.com by McLeod. Following the adventures of Genny Taylor, a Sidhe fae with the powerful ability to absorb magic but a complete inability to cast even simple spells, The Sweet Scent of Blood gets the series off to a strong start. Spellcrackers.com is the name of the business where Genny works sorting out supernatural problems and cleaning up magical messes. Genny lives in an alternate reality London, where vampires and fairies, rub elbows with goblins, trolls and other mythical beings, alongside the everyday mundane humans. Of course, the vamps, with immortality to back them up and their rather deep pockets, seem to be getting the better side of the PR deal. Afterall, they were human once. The other fae creatures, being inhuman, don't always get such a fair deal. As a Sidhe Fae, Genny is a rarity among the supernatural and apart from her a few friends, her job is really what she is all about. Unfortunately, that's all about to change for her when she is thrust into the world of supernatural politics and finds herself in the middle of a vampire powerplay investigating the death of a popular vampire's human girlfrien. Genny is a great character. As narrator, her thoughts are full of snark and wit that will keep you chuckling. Refreshingly, she comes across as an intelligent protagonist that manages to not do a lot to stupid things. Genny has her own strengths and weaknesses when it comes to being around vampires, and her struggle not to succumb to the deadly charms of the vampires that she meets in the course of her investigation make for interesting reading. A large amount of the conflict in this story comes from Genny’s internal battle against her own darker desires rather than outside forces. The fantasy world building is taken slowly with background details being revealed throughout the story rather than in a big rush at the beginning. My only criticism of the novel would be that while the slow reveal works well for the most part, it is combined with a plot that has more twists and turns than a mountain road. Meaning that readers need to pay close attention in places or risk being lost by the jumps in the plot but this is only a minor gripe so don’t let it put you off reading this novel - after all there is so much here for vampire (and fantasy) fans to like...All in all, it is a great start to this series. 2010-149
Date published: 2010-09-07