The Thaw: Ben Pecos Mysteries, Book 6

May 5, 2020|
The Thaw: Ben Pecos Mysteries, Book 6
Kobo ebook
Available for download


Booklist calls the Ben Pecos mysteries, from award-winning author Susan Slater, “A series to watch.”

Ben Pecos finds himself leaving his new home and new wife Julie in Florida, as he is sent on temporary assignment with the Indian Health Service to remote and frigid Moose Flats, Alaska. There, his job will be to help set up a new clinic to address the community’s problems.
He soon discovers that alcoholism, drugs, and domestic violence aren’t the only issues in this tiny village. Almost before he has set up his office, there are three deaths under questionable circumstances. But what do a heart attack, a drug overdose, and frozen corpse out on the tundra have in common? Ben is shocked to learn it could all involve his ex-girlfriend, who has quite a few surprises in store, including a son Ben never knew about.
And when Julie rearranges her work assignment to come and spend several months with Ben in Alaska, that’s when the tough questions must be answered—if they survive long enough to put together all the complex clues.

Praise for Susan Slater and the Ben Pecos Mystery Series:

“This is a wonderful book with loveable heroes.” – Library Journal, (on The Pumpkin Seed Massacre)

“Susan Slater’s Thunderbird is a witty, absorbing tale.” —Publishers Weekly

“Slater effectively combines an appealing mix of new and existing characters … dry humor; crackling suspense; and a surprise ending.” —Booklist

“… a gripping novel. We mystery lovers hope it’s the first of many.” – Tony Hillerman

“A solid, suspenseful narrative and colorful glimpses of Native American life strongly recommend this …” – Library Journal (on Thunderbird)

“… Ben Pecos—raised far from New Mexico’s Tewa Pueblo—could become as lasting a fictional presence as Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee.” – Chicago Tribune

Title:The Thaw: Ben Pecos Mysteries, Book 6
Format:Kobo ebook
Published:May 5, 2020
Publisher:Columbine Publishing Group, LLC
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781649140012

Recently Viewed