The Thief:

Paperback | December 27, 2005

byMegan Whalen Turner

not yet rated|write a review

Discover the world of the Queen’s Thief

New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

Eugenides, the queen’s thief, can steal anything—or so he says. When his boasting lands him in prison and the king’s magus invites him on a quest to steal a legendary object, he’s in no position to refuse. The magus thinks he has the right tool for the job, but Gen has plans of his own. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief.

A Newbery Honor Book

An ALA Notable Book

A YALSA Best Book for Young Adults
A Horn Book Fanfare Book
A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age
A Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books Blue Ribbon Book
A Junior Library Guild Selection

“The Queen’s Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner’s books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come.”—Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer

"Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail—you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again.”—Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of the The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows

“Trust me. Just read it. Then read it again, because it will not be the same river twice.”—Lois McMaster Bujold, acclaimed and Hugo Award-winning author of the Vorkosigan Saga, the Chalion Series, and the Sharing Knife series

"In addition to its charismatic hero, this story possesses one of the most valuable treasures of all—a twinkling jewel of a surprise ending." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“To miss this thief’s story would be a crime.”—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

“A literary journey that enriches both its characters and readers before it is over.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“A tantalizing, suspenseful, exceptionally clever novel.”—The Horn Book (starred review)

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.50

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Discover the world of the Queen’s ThiefNew York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich wi...

From the Jacket

"I can steal anything."After Gen's bragging lands him in the king's prison, the chances of escape look slim. Then the king's scholar, the magus, needs the thief's skill for a seemingly impossible task -- to steal a hidden treasure from another land.To the magus, Gen is just a tool. But Gen is a trickster and a survivor with a plan of h...

Megan Whalen Turner is the author of the Newbery Honor Book The Thief and its companions, The Queen of Attolia and The King of Attolia. She lives with her family in Ohio.

other books by Megan Whalen Turner

Thick As Thieves
Thick As Thieves

Hardcover|May 16 2017

$19.54 online$21.99list price(save 11%)
A Conspiracy Of Kings
A Conspiracy Of Kings

Paperback|Aug 23 2011

$8.97 online$9.99list price(save 10%)
The King Of Attolia
The King Of Attolia

Paperback|Feb 28 2017

$12.50

see all books by Megan Whalen Turner
Format:PaperbackDimensions:304 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.61 inPublished:December 27, 2005Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0060824972

ISBN - 13:9780060824976

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12

Customer Reviews of The Thief:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well done A very well written book. Even though I am much more adult then teen, I very much enjoyed the book. It was an easy read on cold winter night. The characters are well developed. The journey of the main character is quite intriguing and full of surprises. I am looking forward to reading the other books in this series. Hopefully the younger members of the family will enjoy the book as much as I did.
Date published: 2012-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Amazing A surprising find in this small novel; Megan Turner wastes no time in developing the plot and action and throws the reader deep into the setting. The main character of Gen is rich and dynamic and I was quick to fall in love with him. The suspense of the book kept me turning to the pages for hours, and I was still reading the adventure into the small hours of the morning The landscape and plot are richly developed and reach out and embrace the reader. The characters are well rounded and so fully developed that no matter the age or maturity of the reader, there are details that can be discovered and enjoyed, and become lost in. It would even make a great book to read allowed as a family or in a classroom. Do not be fooled by the seeming simplicity to this book. There is far more going on then meets the eye. And I encourage anyone to pick it up and enjoy it.
Date published: 2009-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Great Steal!! The Thief is an extraordinary novel by Megan W. Turner. In the novel Gen was boasting too much of what he could and did steal, and because of that he found himself in jail. Something unexpected is about to happen, something that he learned about in his childhood, and something worth more than all the treasure in the world. The book is situated in Greece. The book has a lot of twists and turns, but the ending is the best part. This novel has lots of action and adventure, and therefore it falls into that genre. This is a really great novel. Elliot
Date published: 2008-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A delightful surprise... Wow...this book kind of snuck up on me. At first I thought, "what's all the hype about?" And then it finally dawned on me...this is a great book! I'm hooked on this character and can't wait to read The Queen of Attolia and The King of Attolia next.
Date published: 2008-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia After hearing Megan Whelan Turner talk at the Particles of Narrative Conference in Toronto, I read this trilogy. It accounted for a string of days where I didn't get anything done, and nights when I read far too late. It is a totally engrossing series and I recommend it highly.
Date published: 2007-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wiity, humorous, and defiitely surprising With a thief, you must expect anything. especially mischief. The magus, his two apprentices, and a soldier go on a quest to find a sacred stone. this tale of trust, betrayal, cleverness, and death is highly recomended. Makes you want to read the sequels
Date published: 2006-01-06

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“An exceptional adventure story.”