The Things We Cannot Say: A Novel by Kelly RimmerThe Things We Cannot Say: A Novel by Kelly Rimmer

The Things We Cannot Say: A Novel

byKelly Rimmer

Paperback | March 19, 2019

see the collection New & Hot Books

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.99

Earn 110 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

“Kelly Rimmer has outdone herself. I thought that Before I Let You Go was one of the best novels I had ever read…If you only have time to read one book this year The Things We Cannot Say should be that book. Keep tissues handy.”—Fresh Fiction

“Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say.” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author

In 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war. Just beyond the tents of the Russian refugee camp she calls home, a young woman speaks her wedding vows. It’s a decision that will alter her destiny…and it’s a lie that will remain buried until the next century.

Since she was nine years old, Alina Dziak knew she would marry her best friend, Tomasz. Now fifteen and engaged, Alina is unconcerned by reports of Nazi soldiers at the Polish border, believing her neighbors that they pose no real threat, and dreams instead of the day Tomasz returns from college in Warsaw so they can be married. But little by little, injustice by brutal injustice, the Nazi occupation takes hold, and Alina’s tiny rural village, its families, are divided by fear and hate.

Then, as the fabric of their lives is slowly picked apart, Tomasz disappears. Where Alina used to measure time between visits from her beloved, now she measures the spaces between hope and despair, waiting for word from Tomasz and avoiding the attentions of the soldiers who patrol her parents’ farm. But for now, even deafening silence is preferable to grief.

Slipping between Nazi-occupied Poland and the frenetic pace of modern life, Kelly Rimmer creates an emotional and finely wrought narrative. The Things We Cannot Say is an unshakable reminder of the devastation when truth is silenced…and how it can take a lifetime to find our voice before we learn to trust it.
Kelly Rimmer is a USA Today bestselling women's fiction author of five novels. She currently lives in Australia. Her most recent novel, Before I Let You Go, was released in 2018. Her novels have been translated into over 20 languages.
Loading
Title:The Things We Cannot Say: A NovelFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:432 pages, 8.92 × 5.91 × 1.14 inShipping dimensions:8.92 × 5.91 × 1.14 inPublished:March 19, 2019Publisher:Graydon House BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1525823566

ISBN - 13:9781525823565

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn’t put this one down! I loved every page of this book m. This is an amazing story of how unconditional love binds families together through the hardest times, and the things they will do for each other, through not just war. No detail was left spared and she didn’t just tell the intertwining story of past and present. She made you feel like you were there living it with them. I loved the past to present back and forth until you figured it out, his book had me in tears by the end. I will definitely check out Kelly Rimmer’s other books.
Date published: 2019-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best book I have read in awhile Loved everything about this book!!! It’s a MUST read!!!
Date published: 2019-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Book I've Read This Year Everything about this book was just beautiful. The writing was engaging, the characters strong and real. More often than not in books with two points of view in different time periods, I find myself engaged with one and just trying to get through the other. Not here. I loved both storylines and honestly felt both were strong enough to carry their own stories. Kelly Rimmer's portrayal of a young boy with severe autism was phenomenal. It was so raw, eye opening and respectful. She tackles every form of love and is just so on point. I grew to love each and every character in this book. There are so many more things that could be said about this story, but the only thing I feel is worthwhile is just read it.
Date published: 2019-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I really liked this story and did not want to put it down...as I was reading it I could picture the places the author described.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from page-turner This book was compelling from start to finish. I loved everything about it; finished it within 24 hours because I truly couldn’t put it down! A beautiful and important story.
Date published: 2019-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best book I’ ve read this year! Will certainly be checking out other titles by this author. This book draws you back from the present time to occupied Poland during the war. Loved it!
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely wonderful Within the last few years I’ve been drawn to historical fiction written by women, about strong women of the war. This is exactly what I expected when I picked this up, it’s touching, it’s sad, it’s everytbing you could want for in a book about the war. Makes you believe in true love, and the sacrifices you are willing to do.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A complex family story "The Things We Cannot Say" is a powerful story of love, loss and resilience. In alternating chapters, Rimmer tells the story of Alina and Tomas, young Polish couple during the early years of WWII, and Alice and her grandmother Hanna, living in present day Florida. Hanna, in her 90’s and ailing, enlists Alice’s help to discover what became of her family in Poland after she fled in the early 1940’s. Alice leaves her husband and two children to travel to Poland; what she discovers is a shock to both Alice and her family as well as to the reader. A great read!
Date published: 2019-03-30

Editorial Reviews

"An intense story of survival, hardship, and heartbreak, The Things We Cannot Say is sure to evoke emotion in even the most cynical reader."-New York Journal of Books"Rimmer (Before I Let You Go) gives each story line the space to develop organically, resulting in concluding chapters that tie the two women's stories together in an extremely moving fashion. Fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale (2015) and Pam Jenoff's The Orphan's Tale (2017) will enjoy this absorbing, emotional tale of love, heartbreak, and resilience."-Booklist"Kelly Rimmer has raised the already high bar with this unforgettable novel. It is that rare author that takes the reader so deeply into a world that you smell the smells, feel the hunger, see the devastation...and the lengths we will go to for the ones we love. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author." -Bestselling author Sally Hepworth"In The Things We Cannot Say, Kelly Rimmer deftly weaves together the narratives of Alina, a young woman struggling to survive the Second World War in Poland and Alice, a mother and wife juggling the intergenerational complexities of modern family. Their stories converge when Alice undertakes a journey to uncover the secrets of her dying grandmother's past. Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say, a poetic and unforgettable tale of the past that is always with us, the truth that sets us free and the long journey home." - Pam Jenoff, NYT Bestselling Author of The Orphan's Tale"Kelly Rimmer has raised the already high bar with this unforgettable novel, The Things We Cannot Say. It is that rare author that takes the reader so deeply into a world that you smell the smells, feel the hunger, see the devastation. Alina and Tomasz's story is one of bravery, resilience, and the lengths we will go to for the ones we love. If this book isn't a giant bestseller, I will eat my hat. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author." -Sally Hepworth, NYT Bestselling Author of The Secrets of Midwives"[The Things We Cannot Say] is such an emotional and powerful read that I found it almost impossible to put down. I was riveted, and will be recommending this book to everyone I know." -Sally Hepworth bestselling author of THE SHAPE OF US"Kelly Rimmer skillfully takes us deep inside a world where love must make choices that logic cannot. Ripped from the headlines and from the heart, Before I Let You Go is an unforgettable novel that will amaze and startle you with its impact and insight." -Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times bestselling author of The Bookshop at Water's End"Get ready for fireworks in your book club when you read Before I Let You Go! One of the best books for discussion that I've read in years." -Diane Chamberlain, New York Times bestselling author of The Stolen Marriage"Kelly Rimmer's shimmering and poignant new novel, Before I Let You Go broadens our current national conversation about seeking to combat the deadly yet curable disease of addiction while being ultimately a story of relationships."--Library Journal, Editor's Pick"Rimmer's timely novel captures the unbreakable bond of two sisters and humanizes the difficult intersection of the opioid epidemic and the justice system."-Publishers Weekly