The Things We Keep: A Novel by Sally HepworthThe Things We Keep: A Novel by Sally Hepworth

The Things We Keep: A Novel

bySally Hepworth

Paperback | January 19, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.00

Earn 105 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Available in stores

about

Anna Forster is only thirty-eight years old, but her mind is slowly slipping away from her. Armed only with her keen wit and sharp-eyed determination, she knows that her family is doing what they believe to be best when they take her to Rosalind House, an assisted living facility. But Anna has a secret: she does not plan on staying. She also knows there's just one another resident who is her age, Luke. What she does not expect is the love that blossoms between her and Luke even as she resists her new life. As her disease steals more and more of her memory, Anna fights to hold on to what she knows, including her relationship with Luke.

Eve Bennett, suddenly thrust into the role of single mother to her bright and vivacious seven-year-old daugher, finds herself putting her culinary training to use at Rosalind house. When she meets Anna and Luke, she is moved by the bond the pair has forged. But when a tragic incident leads Anna's and Luke's families to separate them, Eve finds herself questioning what she is willing to risk to help them. Eve has her own secrets, and her own desperate circumstances that raise the stakes even higher.

With huge heart, humor, and a compassionate understanding of human nature, Sally Hepworth delivers a page-turning novel about the power of love to grow and endure even when faced with the most devastating of obstacles. You won't forget The Things We Keep.

SALLY HEPWORTH is a human resource professional. A graduate of Monash University in Melbourne, Australia, Sally started writing novels after the birth of her first child. Sally has lived around the world, spending extended periods in Singapore, the UK, and Canada, and she now writes full-time from her home in Melbourne, where she lives...
Loading
Title:The Things We Keep: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 9.24 × 6.17 × 0.96 inPublished:January 19, 2016Publisher:St. Martin's PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1250101964

ISBN - 13:9781250101969

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding, heart-breaking, life-affirming fiction “I like it when people remember that I’m a person, not just a person with Alzheimer’s.” Anna Forster, a vibrant woman in her mid thirties who works as a paramedic, rides motorcycles, and loves life, is diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s disease. She enlists the aid of her twin brother Jack to install her in to ‘Rosalind House’, a private assisted living facility. It is a large Georgian house which houses twelve residents and various staff. Ten of the twelve are geriatric. Anna and another man named Luke are still young. Both Luke and Anna are fighting the battle of their lives. It would only stand to reason that under these circumstances they become more than friends. Eve Bennett had it all. A loving husband, a beautiful daughter, loads of money and a gorgeous house. Then, one tragic day she discovered that her husband had orchestrated a Ponzi scheme. They lost everything – it was more than he could deal with… Now Eve is a single mother, living with her daughter in a very modest one bedroom apartment. She applies for a job as a cook at Rosalind House because it will enable her to keep her daughter Clementine in the school where all her friends go. Eve, a gourmet cook, is hired not only to cook, but to clean up after the residents. It is a mighty step-down from her former life. Her friends don’t want anything to do with her. Some of them lost their money via her husband’s Ponzi scheme. Some are just to snobbish to associate with her since her fall from grace. Clementine Bennett, aged seven, is trying to deal with her Daddy’s death, her reduced circumstances, and the teasing and taunting of her friends. She goes to Rosalind House with her mother before school and again after school. The residents enjoy her presence. She shows them her Irish dance and sings for them. Her youthful innocence and questions are a welcome change from the sameness of their existence. MY THOUGHTS I’ve had this book on my TBR for quite some time. I guess I knew it would be a difficult read and I was hesitant to put myself through the heartbreak. It IS hard to read, I mean, how could it not be? The story is about a woman in her late thirties who has early onset Alzheimer’s. A woman of that age living in an assisted living facility with geriatric patients is a fate that causes me to weep. I’m almost three decades older than Anna’s character and I would find the situation abhorrent, even for someone my age. The story of the deceived single mother, Eve Bennett also tugged at my heart-strings. And Clementine Bennett was a delight. The writing was skillful. The situation tragic and all too believable. Believe me – more than one tissue was required in the reading of this novel. The title fit the book perfectly as is evidenced by this quote: “When you get to my age, you don’t waste time with regrets. In the end, you just remember the moments of joy. When all is said and done those are the things we keep.” It is a novel that teaches you to find joy even when situations seem horrendous and insurmountable. This novel broke my heart – and healed it simultaneously. A wonderful love story that is a also a prime example of fine literary fiction. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved loved loved this book Oh man, this book was ammmmazzzing. I would definitely recommend it. I read it in 2 days - just couldn't stop reading it. I will be reading the other 2 books Sally Hepworth wrote for sure.
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from very moving This story is about a young man and a young woman with early onset alzheimers. Both are residents at Rosalind House. There is also Even, suddenly a widow with a 7 yr. old daughter who becomes the chef at Rosalind House. As the residents lose their memories, Eve uncovers her memories and begins to create new ones. Heartwarming and compassionate.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm Very sweet book. A beautiful story of two different lives coming together. Must read
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good story overall I enjoy when books include chapters told from the perspective of different characters. It was interesting how the plot was divided into past and present. This really worked to show the decline that people living with Alzheimer's endure. Overall a good story with some tearful moments. A good read for the story's sake and to gain insight into the disease. #plumreview
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple, yet touching A heartfelt story about how love endures - whether through dementia or tragedy. I liked the parallel storylines between Eve and Anna and how they eventually became an unknowing team, looking out for one another. Although this book's content didn't hit me as hard as something like Still Alice, Alzheimer's is still a harrowing, unforgiving disease that makes for a tragic end.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointing I expected something similar to Still Alice but this novel lacked the beauty and depth that's in Genova's novel about early onset Alzheimer. There were a couple parts that were striking but the rest was just boring. The story of Eve and Clementine did not interest me at all. Also, I have never met a 7 year old that can talk and act like this little girl - quite unrealistic. The "surprise" in the novel was so obvious - the author hints at it so many times I felt hit over the head with it. By the time it was revealed I wanted to show "WE KNOW!". Pass on this one. Read Genova instead.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed it I enjoyed this book far more than I thought I would. I loved Anna's character and i loved the way you could feel her frustrations that went along with her dimentia. I also loved Luke's character, but I just wish that we would have gotten more of a backstory on him. As far as Anna's twin brother is concerned, I really loved him as a character and you could really feel the love he had for his sister. The other characters, weren't all that insightful or even useful to the story. I feel like the book would have been more enjoyable had it focused only on Anna and Luke. That being said, I really liked it and i would recommend it. It isn't very light reading though, so keep that in mind!
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed the story Unlike the other reviews, I liked the book. You could understand the frustration of Anna losing her memory and how it affected her and her family. Her love for Luke was genuine. Eve's character was perfect for defying the powers that be and helping people who just want love
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hard to follow along with the characters throughout I would not suggest this book after reading it. I was not an easy novel to get to know the characters timelines very blurred
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Different book I liked this book, but must admit it keep jumping around from character to character to much. For example: Anna 6 months ago or Anna 8 months ago. The story jumped between 3 characters. I usually like a book where a character goes first then another etc etc. But I found it a bit hard to follow. The author, with little effect, could have brought it together better.
Date published: 2016-09-25

Editorial Reviews

Praise for The Things We Keep:"A devastatingly beautiful love story" ?People"A poignant testament to the immeasurable and restorative power of love.... Sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Piccoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up." -Library Journal, starred review "Hepworth's debut, The Secrets of Midwives, was critically acclaimed, and it's always a formidable task to impress readers with a second novel. But with The Things We Keep, Hepworth proves that literary lightning can indeed strike twice." -BookPage"A compelling read that touches on important themes, not least the different forms that love may take. Sally Hepworth succeeds by engaging our common humanity, capacity for love and sense of humour." -Graeme Simsion, New York Times bestselling author of The Rosie Project