The Trouble With Women by Jacky FlemingThe Trouble With Women by Jacky Fleming

The Trouble With Women

byJacky Fleming

Hardcover | September 20, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.73 online 
$15.50 list price
Earn 74 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Perfect for fans of Kate Beaton, Lena Dunham, and Caitlin Moran, The Trouble with Women is a feminist's brilliant, tongue-in-cheek, hysterical look at women's "issues," "frailties," and "failures" in our not-so-distant history.

Ever noticed that women don't feature much in history books, and wondered why? Then this is the book for you. In The Trouble with Women, feminist artist Jacky Fleming illustrates how the opinions of supposed male geniuses, such as Charles Darwin (who believed that women have smaller brains than men) and John Ruskin (who believed that women's main function was to praise men), have shaped the fate of women through history, confining them to a life of domesticity and very little else.

Get ready to laugh, wince, and rescue forgotten women from the "dustbin of history," while keeping a close eye out for tell-tale "genius hair."
Title:The Trouble With WomenFormat:HardcoverDimensions:128 pages, 7.3 × 5.1 × 0.9 inPublished:September 20, 2016Publisher:Andrews McMeel PublishingLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1449479766

ISBN - 13:9781449479763

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from True Wit I received an ARC of this novel from the publisher, in exchange for an honest review. 3.5 stars. This was a really quick read, written with true wit and wonderful tongue-in-cheek humor. Overall, I think the point - that there are an endless amount of ridiculous double standards when it comes to women - was effectively made. The illustrations only added to the humor for me! That being said, I think that Fleming chose topics that are perhaps not as relevant to our modern times. In no way are there not current double-standards that could be satirized in this light, clever, but ultimately revealing manner. For instance, pay equality or consent, are topics that would have further added to this piece. If you are looking for a light read, that might still get you thinking, I suggest giving this quirky book a try! If for nothing else than a giggle or two. Also, it's an excuse to read a "picture book" as an adult.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An unforgettable read. Simply amazing. I devoured it like my life depended on its tongue-in-cheek humour. This book perfectly and hilariously captures the history of women, or more so the lack of women in history classes in school. One of the best satires I've read by far.
Date published: 2016-11-18

Editorial Reviews

"A brilliantly witty book of cartoons, it reveals some of our greatest thinkers’ baffling theories about women … Get ready to laugh, wince and rescue forgotten women from the ‘dustbin of history’, whilst keeping a close eye out for tell-tale ‘genius hair’. You will never look at history in the same way again." (John Freeman, Down the Tubes)