The Union of South Africa by Robert Henry BrandThe Union of South Africa by Robert Henry Brand

The Union of South Africa

byRobert Henry Brand

Paperback | January 12, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 100 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Not available in stores


This historic book may have numerous typos, missing text or index. Purchasers can download a free scanned copy of the original book (without typos) from the publisher. 1909. Not illustrated. Excerpt: ... APPENDIX SOUTH AFRICA ACT, 1909. [9 Edw. 7. Ch. 9.] ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS. A.d. Imq. I. --Preliminary. Section. 1. Short title. 2. Definitions. 3. Application of Act to King's successors. II. --The Union. 4. Proclamation of Union. 5. Commencement of Act. 6. Incorporation of Colonies into the Union. 7. Application of Colonial Boundaries Act, &c. III.--Executive Government. 8. Executive power. 9. Governor-General. 10. Salary of Governor-General. 11. Application of Act to Governor-General. 12. Executive Council. 13. Meaning of Governor-General in Council. 14. Appointment of ministers. 15. Appointment and removal of officers. 16. Transfer of executive powers to Governor-General in Council. . 17. Command of naval and military forces. 18. Seat of Government. IV.--Parliament. 19. Legislative power. . 20. Sessions of Parliament. 21. Summoning of first Parliament. 22. Annual session of Parliament. 23. Seat of Legislature. Senate. 24. Original constitution of Senate. 25. Subsequent constitution of Senate. 26. Qualifications of senators. 27. Appointment and tenure of office of President. 28. Deputy President. A.D. 1909. Section. 29. Resignation of senators. 30. Quorum. 31. Voting in the Senate. House of Assembly. 32. Constitution of House of Assembly. 33. Original number of members. 34. Increase of number of members. 35. Qualifications of voters. 36. Application of existing qualifications. 37. Elections. 38. Commission for delimitation of electoral divisions. 39. Electoral divisions. 40. Method of dividing provinces into electoral divisions. 41. Alteration of electoral divisions. 42. Powers and duties of commission for delimiting electoral divisions. 43. Date from which alteration of electoral divisions to i take effect. 44. Qualifications of members of House of As...
Title:The Union of South AfricaFormat:PaperbackDimensions:48 pages, 9.69 × 7.44 × 0.1 inPublished:January 12, 2012Publisher:General Books LLCLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0217761119

ISBN - 13:9780217761116