The United States V. Jackie Robinson by Sudipta Bardhan-quallenThe United States V. Jackie Robinson by Sudipta Bardhan-quallen

The United States V. Jackie Robinson

bySudipta Bardhan-quallenIllustratorR. Gregory Christie

Hardcover | January 2, 2018

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.57 online 
$21.99 list price save 11%
Earn 98 plum® points

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

A moving and inspiring nonfiction picture book about Jackie Robinson’s court martial trial—an important lesser-known moment in his lifetime of fighting prejudice with strength and grace—from author Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen and award-winning illustrator R. Gregory Christie. Perfect for fans of Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, The Story of Ruby Bridges, and Martin’s Big Words.

Jackie Robinson broke boundaries as the first African American player in Major League Baseball. But long before Jackie changed the world in a Dodger uniform, he did it in an army uniform.

As a soldier during World War II, Jackie experienced segregation every day—separate places for black soldiers to sit, to eat, and to live. When the army outlawed segregation on military posts and buses, things were supposed to change.

So when Jackie was ordered by a white bus driver to move to the back of a military bus, he refused. Instead of defending Jackie’s rights, the military police took him to trial. But Jackie would stand up for what was right, even when it was difficult to do.

About The Author

Sudipta Bardan-Quallen is the author of numerous fiction and nonfiction books for children, including Pirate Princess and Snoring Beauty. Sudipta lives in New Jersey with her family. You can visit her online at www.sudipta.com, and at http://nerdychicksrule.com.R. Gregory Christie is a five-time recipient of the Coretta Scott King Hono...
Purrmaids #1: The Scaredy Cat
Purrmaids #1: The Scaredy Cat

by Sudipta Bardhan-quallen

$6.30$6.99

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Pirate Princess
Pirate Princess

by Sudipta Bardhan-quallen

$16.59$21.99

In stock online

Not available in stores

Caveboy Is Bored!
Caveboy Is Bored!

by Sudipta Bardhan-quallen

$12.45$13.99

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:The United States V. Jackie RobinsonFormat:HardcoverDimensions:40 pages, 11 × 8.5 × 0.25 inPublished:January 2, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062287842

ISBN - 13:9780062287847

Customer Reviews of The United States V. Jackie Robinson

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for HAMPIRE!: “Fine’s paintings exaggerate the animals’ terror to comic effect (funniest is the pony cowering in the corner), and his canted angles give this just the right absurdist tone.”