The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic by Dan ArielyThe Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic by Dan Ariely

The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic

byDan Ariely

Paperback | May 17, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.52 online 
$19.99 list price save 17%
Earn 83 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

Dan Ariely is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University, and is the founder of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. His work has been featured in theNew York Times,Wall Street Journal,Washington Post,Boston Globe, and elsewhere. He lives in North Carolina with his family.
Loading
Title:The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying LogicFormat:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.83 inPublished:May 17, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061995045

ISBN - 13:9780061995040

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from We human, as blessed and hopeful irrational beings This is the second super installment following Dan Ariely's popular book "Predictably Irrational". Moving beyond introducing the psychology on our irrationality in decision making, "The Upside of Irrationality" touches on how this irrationality plays it havoc in business settings and our work lives in general. The second part of the book covers the interesting contradictions in our decision makings and the pursuit of wellbeing and happiness. I have a personal preference for "Predictably irrational" over this sequel; I believe its novelty at the time had a lasting impact on me (see how our psychology and feelings messed with our memories!). Nevertheless, I highly appreciate the positivity "The Upside of Irrationality" has presented that brings into perspective our predicament as flawed but definitely blessed and hopeful human beings.
Date published: 2017-08-18

Editorial Reviews

"Sly and lucid. . . . Predictably Irrational is a far more revolutionary book than its unthreatening manner lets on." (New York Times Book Review)