The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic

Paperback | May 17, 2011

byDan Ariely

not yet rated|write a review

“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.46 online
$19.99 list price (save 22%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-ne...

From the Jacket

How can large bonuses sometimes make CEOs less productive?Why is revenge so important to us?How can confusing directions actually help us?Why is there a difference between what we think will make us happy and what really makes us happy? In his groundbreaking book, Predictably Irrational, social scientist Dan Ariely revealed the multipl...

Dan Ariely is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University, and is the founder of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. His work has been featured in theNew York Times,Wall Street Journal,Washington Post,Boston Globe, and elsewhere. He lives in North Carolina with his family.

other books by Dan Ariely

Predictably Irrational, Revised And Expanded Edition: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions
Predictably Irrational, Revised And Expanded Edition: T...

Paperback|Apr 27 2010

$17.28 online$19.99list price(save 13%)
Payoff: The Hidden Logic That Shapes Our Motivations
Payoff: The Hidden Logic That Shapes Our Motivations

Hardcover|Nov 15 2016

$20.46 online$22.99list price(save 11%)
The Honest Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie To Everyone--Especially Ourselves
The Honest Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie To Everyo...

Paperback|Jun 18 2013

$16.78 online$18.50list price(save 9%)
see all books by Dan Ariely
Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.83 inPublished:May 17, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061995045

ISBN - 13:9780061995040

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"Sly and lucid. . . . Predictably Irrational is a far more revolutionary book than its unthreatening manner lets on." (New York Times Book Review)