The Vanishing Island by Barry WolvertonThe Vanishing Island by Barry Wolverton

The Vanishing Island

byBarry WolvertonIllustratorDave Stevenson

Paperback | September 6, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.50

Earn 43 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized new book from acclaimed author Barry Wolverton, perfect for fans of The Glass Sentence and the Books of Beginning series.

It's 1599, the Age of Discovery in Europe. But for Bren Owen, growing up in the small town of Map on the coast of Britannia has meant anything but adventure. Enticed by the tales sailors have brought through Map's port, and inspired by the arcane maps his father creates as a cartographer for the cruel and charismatic map mogul named Rand McNally, Bren is convinced that fame and fortune await him elsewhere.

That's when Bren meets a dying sailor, who gives him a strange gift that hides a hidden message. Cracking the code could lead Bren to a fabled lost treasure that could change his life forever, and that of his widowed father. Before long, Bren is in greater danger than he ever imagined and will need the help of an unusual friend named Mouse to survive.

Title:The Vanishing IslandFormat:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.74 inPublished:September 6, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062221914

ISBN - 13:9780062221919

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A young boy goes off on a sea-faring adventure, but he doesn’t know what he’s in for. With bone-chilling scenes and heart-stopping action, this is a series you don’t want to miss.”