The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn AndersonThe Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson

The Vanishing Season

byJodi Lynn Anderson

Paperback | June 30, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.50

Earn 63 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

From New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson comes The Vanishing Season, at once haunting and lovely, with a gut-wrenching final twist that will keep readers on their toes. It's perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Lauren Myracle, and Laurie Halse Anderson.

Girls started vanishing in the fall.

For Maggie Larsen, the town of Gill Creek is only a stopgap before college and freedom. Until she meets Pauline and Liam. What starts as an uneventful year suddenly changes. Someone is killing teenage girls, and the town reels from the tragedy. As Maggie's and Pauline's worlds collide and change around them, they will both experience love and loss. And by the end of the book, only one of them will survive.

Jodi Lynn Anderson is theNew York Timesbestselling author ofPeaches,Tiger Lily, and the popular May Bird trilogy. She lives in Asheville, N.C., with her husband, her son, and an endless parade of stray pets.
Loading
Title:The Vanishing SeasonFormat:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.65 inPublished:June 30, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062003283

ISBN - 13:9780062003287

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not What it Seems The premise of this book is what caught my attention, and I wasn't disappointed. I was a little sad that it took so long to hook my attention, but it was very much worth my while.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good read Was a good short read. It definitely made you question what was happening next and the ending was very surprising. But definitely worth the read #plumreview
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Twist Ending Never saw it coming. I don''t know how it made me feel, but it was interesting none the less.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beautiful writing, but it fell flat..with no story Maggie moves to Door County, a small little town. Being from Chicago, this is a huge transition for her, and leaving her friends behind is also something she has to deal with. But her next door neighbour, Pauline turns out to be friendly and kind and takes her under her wing to be her best friend. Only, she already has a best friend, Liam who seems to be in love with Pauline. Then reports of dead teenagers appear around their little town, which causes her parents to worry about her well-being. Maggie seemed like this wonderful independent girl who pretty much didn't take crap from anyone, yet when love appears, she turned into a completely different. She was pretty much a pushover and let people walk all over her. Even her parents! I don't know whether to like or dislike her because I felt sorry for her. She was an interesting enough character to read about because she was very responsible. Then there's Pauline, the beautiful waspy wealthy girl whom all the boys are in love with. Then there's her best friend Liam who is the nicest guy who builds wooden saunas by hand. I didn't want a love triangle, but it happened, and it happened quickly. This was lightning fast as it is in most cases, since they only stayed at Gill Creek for six months. I found it to be realistic in a way only because teens can jump into love rather quickly. There was a lot of day to day descriptions, and for some reason Jodi's writing never bored me. I pretty much finished this book in one sitting. It was short, but it still told the story so you won't be left out wondering anything else. I found the little town ignorance to be wholly disheartening and it's sad that it happens in real life too. There was one quote that really made me sit up and take notice. And it was just so bad and racist. I know it's meant to be a joke, but to me it felt inappropriate. "You'd make a really good Taliban boyfriend. You should put her in a burka." I say skip this one, and read Tiger Lily instead. Though if you're wondering who the killer was, it wasn't the focus of the story. It was just shoved to the side and the characters and their lives were the focus.
Date published: 2014-12-31

Editorial Reviews

Praise for PEACHES: “A novel about broken hearts, broken spirits and the healing power of friendship. Anderson’s tale encapsulates the state of ennui and anticipation that accompanies the last stretch of adolescence.”