The Vanishing Season

Paperback | June 30, 2015

byJodi Lynn Anderson

not yet rated|write a review

From New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson comes The Vanishing Season, at once haunting and lovely, with a gut-wrenching final twist that will keep readers on their toes. It's perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Lauren Myracle, and Laurie Halse Anderson.

Girls started vanishing in the fall.

For Maggie Larsen, the town of Gill Creek is only a stopgap before college and freedom. Until she meets Pauline and Liam. What starts as an uneventful year suddenly changes. Someone is killing teenage girls, and the town reels from the tragedy. As Maggie's and Pauline's worlds collide and change around them, they will both experience love and loss. And by the end of the book, only one of them will survive.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.50

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

From New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson comes The Vanishing Season, at once haunting and lovely, with a gut-wrenching final twist that will keep readers on their toes. It's perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Lauren Myracle, and Laurie Halse Anderson.Girls started vanishing in the fall.For Maggie Larsen, the town of Gil...

From the Jacket

Girls started vanishing in the fall, and now winter's come to lay a white sheet over the horror. Door County is swallowing the young, right into its very dirt. From beneath the house on Water Street, I've watched the danger swell.I'm tied—it seems—to this house, this street, this town.I'm tied to Maggie and Pauline, though I don't know...

Jodi Lynn Anderson is theNew York Timesbestselling author ofPeaches,Tiger Lily, and the popular May Bird trilogy. She lives in Asheville, N.C., with her husband, her son, and an endless parade of stray pets.

other books by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Tiger Lily
Tiger Lily

Paperback|Jul 2 2013

$11.50 online$12.50list price(save 8%)
My Diary from the Edge of the World
My Diary from the Edge of the World

Paperback|Jan 10 2017

$9.85 online$10.99list price(save 10%)
SECRETS DE PÊCHE T.02
SECRETS DE PÊCHE T.02

Paperback|Aug 4 2011

$11.95

see all books by Jodi Lynn Anderson
Format:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.65 inPublished:June 30, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062003283

ISBN - 13:9780062003287

Customer Reviews of The Vanishing Season

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good read Was a good short read. It definitely made you question what was happening next and the ending was very surprising. But definitely worth the read #plumreview
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Twist Ending Never saw it coming. I don''t know how it made me feel, but it was interesting none the less.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beautiful writing, but it fell flat..with no story Maggie moves to Door County, a small little town. Being from Chicago, this is a huge transition for her, and leaving her friends behind is also something she has to deal with. But her next door neighbour, Pauline turns out to be friendly and kind and takes her under her wing to be her best friend. Only, she already has a best friend, Liam who seems to be in love with Pauline. Then reports of dead teenagers appear around their little town, which causes her parents to worry about her well-being. Maggie seemed like this wonderful independent girl who pretty much didn't take crap from anyone, yet when love appears, she turned into a completely different. She was pretty much a pushover and let people walk all over her. Even her parents! I don't know whether to like or dislike her because I felt sorry for her. She was an interesting enough character to read about because she was very responsible. Then there's Pauline, the beautiful waspy wealthy girl whom all the boys are in love with. Then there's her best friend Liam who is the nicest guy who builds wooden saunas by hand. I didn't want a love triangle, but it happened, and it happened quickly. This was lightning fast as it is in most cases, since they only stayed at Gill Creek for six months. I found it to be realistic in a way only because teens can jump into love rather quickly. There was a lot of day to day descriptions, and for some reason Jodi's writing never bored me. I pretty much finished this book in one sitting. It was short, but it still told the story so you won't be left out wondering anything else. I found the little town ignorance to be wholly disheartening and it's sad that it happens in real life too. There was one quote that really made me sit up and take notice. And it was just so bad and racist. I know it's meant to be a joke, but to me it felt inappropriate. "You'd make a really good Taliban boyfriend. You should put her in a burka." I say skip this one, and read Tiger Lily instead. Though if you're wondering who the killer was, it wasn't the focus of the story. It was just shoved to the side and the characters and their lives were the focus.
Date published: 2014-12-31

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for PEACHES: “A novel about broken hearts, broken spirits and the healing power of friendship. Anderson’s tale encapsulates the state of ennui and anticipation that accompanies the last stretch of adolescence.”