The Vespertine by Saundra MitchellThe Vespertine by Saundra Mitchell

The Vespertine

bySaundra Mitchell

Paperback | March 20, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.99

Earn 65 plum® points
HURRY, ONLY 2 LEFT!
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

"For teens who enjoy gothic romances, there is much to savor." - VOYA "A lush, romantic tale blending the Victorian era with the paranormal."-teensreadtoo.comIt's the summer of 1889, and Amelia van den Broek is new to Baltimore and eager to take in all the pleasures the city has to offer. But her gaiety is interrupted by disturbing, dreamlike visions she has only at sunset-visions that offer glimpses of the future. Soon, friends and strangers alike call on Amelia to hear her prophecies. But when one of her darkest visions comes to pass, Amelia's world is thrown into chaos. And those around her begin to wonder if she's not the seer of dark portents, but the cause.
Saundra Mitchell is a screenwriter and author. Her debut novel, Shadowed Summer, was a 2010 Edgar Award nominee, a Junior Library Guild selection, and an ALAN pick. Saundra lives in Indianapolis with her husband and two children. www.saundramitchell.com .
Loading
Title:The VespertineFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.77 inPublished:March 20, 2012Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0547721935

ISBN - 13:9780547721934

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Honestly, I Expected Better. This book is so stinkin' slow. It takes forever for anything to happen, and when it finally does pick up (with the speed and agility of a Sunday driver out for a cruise) it wasn't jaw-dropping action. It was more along the lines of, "Oh. Okay." And the people! Ugh, the people. I know superstitions play a huge part in the plot, but I honestly had no patience for anyone in this book. Really, these characters don't stand out in a crowd. They blend into the background without leaving a lasting impact after you've finished the book. It left me feeling frustrated and let down after spending the time to become invested in this book, especially after how chilling the synopsis originally sounded.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Slow, ending makes up for it, a little. This was an okay book. Certainly not the best, but it had it’s moments where it did engage me as a reader. The book had some gothic overtones and the setting of the story (which was Victorian but in the USA era) was interesting - which kept my curiosity going. I really enjoyed reading about Amelia because she didn’t care what others thought of her or what society thought. She did whatever she wanted to do despite the consequences.  I really liked her paired up with Zora. They were like two kindred spirits and made an interesting duo to read. The other characters were also pretty good. I’m trying to figure out whether Nathaniel is some other worldly creature, or just someone with paranormal powers. I was a bit confused there (I’m sure that’s probably explained in the other two books) What bugged me about this book is, it went at such a great pace, and then halfway through the book it slows to the pace of waiting for the entire carton of molasses to empty. It goes SUPER SLOW. Almost to the point where I wanted to give up the book. I’m not sure why it became this way, after being halfway in the book you’re then set back on pace and the book gets interesting in the end. In fact it’s the ending that makes up for the snail’s pace. Sort of.  Worth a read and if possible, try and work your way through the snail trail in the book. The ending makes the reading worth it. Otherwise if you don’t have the patience, you might as well pass this one by.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from oh the vespers I kept seeing this book everywhere and I loved the look of the cover - so pretty. And well, I love historical and paranormal books, so it's right up my alley. The story is interesting because I haven't really read that many books that dealt with someone having visions, so I found this topic quite entertaining. The story started a little slow, but once the visions started it picks up quickly. Amelia - the seer in question - is supposed to be in Baltimore to make a suitable match and find herself a husband. But with her unknown supernatural ability coming to light, eveything changes. She is drawn to an unsuitable man - one who is below her, yet she cannot stop thinking about him. He's the historical romance version of todays stereotypical bad boy. Nathaniel tries to make it known that he is beneath her and she should really try to find someone better, so he tends to let her instigate all of their meetings. Amelia, however, is a woman on a mission and wants to be with him no matter what the cost. Zora - her new best friend - seems a little naive when it comes to Amelia and her visions. She sees it as a great way to meet people from better classes and doesn't realize that by Amelia seeing the future, it's not always sunshine and rainbows to be predicted. Though Zora seems to love Amelia regardless and doesn't want to know her own future - though Amelia has alredy learned a part of it. I love the way that Amelia sees the visions at sunset through the vespers and it almost takes her over - and how some of the visions are absolutely wonderful and exciting, yet others are terrifying and disheartening. And then how horrifying to learn that some of her unpleasant visions actually come true - making people more wary of her than before. During one the sweeter moments in the book I came across this passage that made me smile: I had never known it before, how the glow of someone else's joy could reflect so completely as to be shared. I actually was sad when the book ended, I was hoping it would go a little longer and explore some more about what happens to Amelia after all is said and done with her trip to Baltimore. The ending is quite short and wrapped up I suppose to let you decide the rest of her future - though you do get a taste - it just leaves you wanting to know a little more. I wonder if there will be a sequel to explore her life now?
Date published: 2011-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Enjoyable paranormal historical fiction I read an ARC of The Vespertine by Saundra Mitchell on my Kobo. It was provided by the publisher via Net Galley. This novel is set in 1889, and I think Mitchell did a fabulous job with this. We didn’t need the book to tell us what year it was to know it was this time period, because the setting was beautifully apparent. One of my favourite parts of this book was the language. Old-fashioned language in a narrative really sends me back in time, or makes me feel like I’m in a dream. The diction is fabulous, it felt like reading poetry (I love poetry). The frivolities that dominated female life in the time are a bit tedious to me, I don’t think I would have thrived in a time when so much diplomacy and formality was required of young ladies. I found things like being given a glove as a token of affection to be a bit ridiculous. This isn’t Mitchell’s fault, it’s just a factor of the time period. I hadn’t realized that dance cards were a literal thing. I’ve heard people say that “I’ll put you on my dance card” but I thought it was figurative. Never before this book did I realize it was a physical card tied to their wrist. It must have been uncomfortable. I found Amelia’s powers fascinating. They are describes so hauntingly, that I felt like I was experiencing her premonitions with her. I loved the contrast between her modesty for real powers and the demanding entertainer with pretend powers entertaining. Nathaniel is intriguing and mysterious. It makes me really angry that there was a time when dating someone outside your station was so impossible. I don’t understand how class ever became such a barrier. It’s a slow-moving plot, that gets most interesting near the end of the novel. It dragged at times, and I had trouble getting into the story partly because of technical issues with my Kobo, however I will be looking for more by the author because I enjoyed the language and ideas
Date published: 2011-03-09

Editorial Reviews

Praise for The Vespertine: [A] richly conceived historical romance. . . . Fans of Libba Bray's A Great and Terrible Beauty will find themselves enchanted by this atmospheric tale."- Bulletin "Equal parts vivid period detail, gothic melodrama, and foreboding premonitions coming true . . . an absorbing tale."- Booklist "Written in a passionate, inviting voice, The Vespertine is a rich, historical novel of otherworldly power, forbidden romance, and questionable motives."-Aprilynne Pike, New York Times Bestselling Author of Wings and Spells "Sheer pleasure from beginning to end."-TeenReads.com"I savored every word of The Vespertine; I knew it was an amazing book from the first page and I was entranced until the very last."-Carrie Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth series Praise for The Springsweet : "A lovely historical romance. . . . The author conjures a convincing picture of life on the Oklahoma prairie, painting an absorbing portrait of the landscape and of the people there. . . . A high-quality, absorbing drama."- Kirkus Reviews " The Springsweet will steal your heart. Zora is a wounded heroine who had me cheering as she rediscovers the strength she thought she'd lost. Blend in a smoldering, yet refreshingly subtle hero, and add a twist of magic and you have a perfect romance in the Old West with another of Saundra Mitchell's signature rich and nuanced historic settings!"-Aprilynne Pike, New York Times bestselling author of Wings and Spells "I didn't think YA historicals could get better than The Vespertine . The Springsweet proved me wrong. This is a gorgeous, unputdownable book that will stay with you long after it's through. Saundra Mitchell just gets better and better."-Sarah MacLean, NYT and USA Today bestselling Author of Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake and Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord "With Saundra Mitchell's trademark evocative and gorgeous language, The Springsweet takes us across the plains, where the people thirst for love just as the land thirsts for water. I never wanted this book to end!"-Carrie Ryan, New York Times best-selling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth series Praise for The Elementals: "In The Elementals the worlds of The Vespertine and The Springsweet collide with glass-brittle hopes and devastating consequences. The children of the supernatural must learn what their parents have long known, that even the most innocent magic demands a cost. A sumptuous read, as bittersweet as it is beautiful."-Aprilynne Pike, New York Times bestselling author of Wings and Spells "Saundra Mitchell pulls off a thrilling conclusion to a mesmerizing series! She just gets better and better!"-Carrie Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth series"Mitchell convincingly portrays the glittering, raucous L.A. of the burgeoning movie industry and the oppressive unease of looming war."- Booklist "