The Vicars Garden and Other Stories by D. H. LawrenceThe Vicars Garden and Other Stories by D. H. Lawrence

The Vicars Garden and Other Stories

byD. H. LawrenceEditorN. H. Reeve

Hardcover | April 13, 2009

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 1,086 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


The volume collects together manuscript and other early versions of thirteen of D. H. Lawrence's short stories, including some of the best-known ('Odour of Chrysanthemums', 'The Blind Man'), as well as many which have never been published before. It includes the earliest stories Lawrence wrote, dating from the autumn of 1907, and stories written between 1911 and 1919. With this volume, all Lawrence's extant short fiction is now published in the Cambridge edition of his works. All the texts are newly edited, with detailed explanatory notes and a full textual apparatus showing the variants between the manuscripts and later versions, and the Introduction gives an account of their compositional history. This edition thus enables readers, scholars and students to trace Lawrence's extraordinary and rapid development as a writer and to compare the original forms of these stories with what he subsequently went on to make of them.
D(avid) H(erbert) Lawrence was born on September 11, 1885. His father was a coal miner and Lawrence grew up in a mining town in England. He always hated the mines, however, and frequently used them in his writing to represent both darkness and industrialism, which he despised because he felt it was scarring the English countryside. Law...
Title:The Vicars Garden and Other StoriesFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 8.5 × 5.43 × 0.83 inPublished:April 13, 2009Publisher:Cambridge University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:052186710X

ISBN - 13:9780521867108

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

General editor's preface; Acknowledgements; Chronology; Cue-titles; Introduction; 'The Vicar's Garden' (1907); 'The Shadow in the Rose Garden' (1914); 'A Page from the Annals of Gresleia' (1907); 'Ruby-Glass' (1907); 'The White Stocking' (1907); 'The White Stocking' (1914); 'Odour of Chrysanthemums' [Version 2] (1910); 'Odour of Chrysanthemums' [Version 3] (1911); 'Intimacy' (1911);'The Harassed Angel' (1911); 'Vin Ordinaire' (1914); 'The Blind Man' [Version 1] (1918); 'Wintry Peacock' [Version 1] (1919); Appendix: The July 1914 ending of 'Odour of Chrysanthemums'; Explanatory notes; Textual apparatus; Line-end hyphenation; A note on pounds, shillings and pence.

Editorial Reviews

'... a most valuable addition ...' Archiv für das Studium der neueren Sprachen und Literaturen