The Walls Came Tumbling Down: Collapse and Rebirth in Eastern Europe by Gale StokesThe Walls Came Tumbling Down: Collapse and Rebirth in Eastern Europe by Gale Stokes

The Walls Came Tumbling Down: Collapse and Rebirth in Eastern Europe

byGale Stokes

Paperback | September 15, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$54.85 online 
$64.95 list price save 15%
Earn 274 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Gale Stokes' The Walls Came Tumbling Down offered one of the most respected interpretations of the East European revolutions of 1989 for many years. It provides a sweeping yet vivid narrative of the two decades of developments that led from the Prague Spring of 1968 to the collapse ofcommunism in 1989. Highlights of that narrative include, among other things, discussions of Solidarity and civil society in Poland, Charter 77 and the Velvet Revolution in Czechoslovakia, and the bizarre regime of Romania's Nikolae Ceauescu and his violent downfall. In this second edition, now appropriately subtitled Collapse and Rebirth in Eastern Europe, Stokes not only has revised these portions of the book in the light of recent scholarship, but has added three new chapters covering the post-communist period, including analyses of the unification of Germanyand the collapse of the Soviet Union, narratives of the admission of many of the countries of the region to the European Union, and discussion of the unfortunate outcomes of the Wars of Yugoslav Succession in the Western Balkans.
Gale Stokes is past Dean of Humanities, Chair of the History Department, and a three-time winner of the George R. Brown Award for Superior Teaching at Rice University. He is the author of several books, including From Stalinism to Pluralism: A Documentary History of Eastern Europe Since 1945, Second Edition, (OUP, 1996) and Three Eras ...
Title:The Walls Came Tumbling Down: Collapse and Rebirth in Eastern EuropeFormat:PaperbackDimensions:384 pages, 6.1 × 9.21 × 0.71 inPublished:September 15, 2011Publisher:Oxford University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0199732639

ISBN - 13:9780199732630


Table of Contents

PrefaceIntroduction1. The New Opposition: Antipolitics and Solidarity2. The Gang of Four and Their Nemesis3. The Momentum of Change in Hungary4. Solidarity and the Return of the Repressed in Poland5. The Glorious Revolutions in 19896. The Devil's Finger: The Disintegration of Yugoslavia7. The New European Order8. Central Europe on the Move9. Southeastern Europe: A Glass Half EmptyEpilogue: Pluralism, The New Reality