The Walworth Beauty

November 14, 2017|
The Walworth Beauty by Michèle Roberts
$37.00
Hardcover
Earn 185 plum® points

Out of stock online

Available in stores

To see store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue, and Kate Atkinson.

2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her London flat for the swelling city''s outskirts, moving to the quiet Walworth cul-de-sac of Apricot Place. Immersing herself in local history, she reads the work of Henry Mayhew, who documented Victorian working class life, and she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.

1851: Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the London poor. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. They resent his scientific distance, and he strains to keep it, not immune to their temptations. Roaming the Southwark streets for answers that will let him keep his job, he finds Apricot Place, where the elegant and enigmatic Mrs. Dulcimer runs a boarding house.

As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other--a breath at Madeleine''s neck, a voice in her head-ghostly murmurs echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.

Michèle Roberts is the author of thirteen highly acclaimed novels, including Daughters of the House, which won the WH Smith Literary Award and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize. Her most recent novel, Ignorance, was longlisted for the Women''s Prize for Fiction in 2013 and her memoir, Paper Houses, was BBC Radio 4''s Book of the Wee...
Loading
Title:The Walworth BeautyFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:400 pages, 8.88 X 5.99 X 1.31 inShipping dimensions:400 pages, 8.88 X 5.99 X 1.31 inPublished:November 14, 2017Publisher:Bloomsbury USALanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1408883392

ISBN - 13:9781408883396

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: