The Wandering Heart by Mary MalloyThe Wandering Heart by Mary Malloy

The Wandering Heart

byMary Malloy

Paperback | April 1, 2009

Pricing and Purchase Info

$23.50

Earn 118 plum® points
HURRY, ONLY 2 LEFT!

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Praise for Mary Malloy's work:A tour de force-fascinating, highly readable, and meticulously researched."-Nathaniel Philbrick"Meticulously researched and engagingly written."-Seattle Times"In the tradition of Byatt'sPossession, Malloy's debut novel is a complex and masterfully woven tale that will keep readers up far into the night."-Caroline Preston, author ofJackie by Josie andGatsby's GirlHistorian Lizzie Manning didn't set out to become a sleuth, and she had no intention of becoming personally involved in a medieval mystery. Her expertise lay in eighteenth-century maritime voyages, and her assignment was to find a Tlingit Indian corpse robbed from its grave two hundred years ago during Captain Cook's Pacific voyage. First accident, then compulsion, pull her deeper into the past, through thirty generations of one British family. Lizzie's sources aren't fingerprints and firearms, but documents, artifacts, paintings, architecture, and even the landscape-though modern forensic science helps clarify what happened to a few ancient corpses. Lizzie's work takes on personal meaning as she is drawn into her own family's history of insanity and a search for a Crusader's disembodied heart.As with Elizabeth Peters' Amelia Peabody and Amanda Cross' Kate Fansler, Mary Malloy creates a heroine who is a respected scholar in her field, and who draws on her expertise to solve the mysteries that come her way.Mary Malloy, PhD, is the author of four maritime history books. She is a professor of maritime history at Sea Education Association in Woods Hole, Massachusetts, and of museum studies at Harvard University. "
Title:The Wandering HeartFormat:PaperbackDimensions:300 pages, 9 × 6 × 1 inPublished:April 1, 2009Publisher:Leapfrog PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0981514855

ISBN - 13:9780981514857

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Wandering Heart

Reviews