The Weight Of Ink

June 6, 2017|
The Weight Of Ink by Rachel Kadish
ONLY 1 LEFT!
$40.00
Hardcover
Earn 200 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
In-Store Availability
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

WINNER OF A NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD
A USA TODAY BESTSELLER

An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt''s Possession and Geraldine Brooks''s People of the Book


Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history.

As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents'' scribe, the elusive Aleph."

Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind."
RACHEL KADISH is the award-winning author of the novels From a Sealed Room and Tolstoy Lied: A Love Story, and of the novella I Was Here . Her work has appeared on NPR and in the New York Times, Ploughshares, and Tin House . She lives in the Boston area.
Loading
Title:The Weight Of InkFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:576 pages, 9 X 6 X 1.68 inShipping dimensions:576 pages, 9 X 6 X 1.68 inPublished:June 6, 2017Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0544866460

ISBN - 13:9780544866461

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: