The Wes Anderson Collection: The Grand Budapest Hotel by Matt Zoller SeitzThe Wes Anderson Collection: The Grand Budapest Hotel by Matt Zoller Seitz

The Wes Anderson Collection: The Grand Budapest Hotel

byMatt Zoller SeitzIntroduction byAnne Washburn

Hardcover | February 10, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$34.92 online 
$43.95 list price save 20%
Earn 175 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

This companion to the New York Times bestselling book The Wes Anderson Collection takes readers behind the scenes of the Oscar®-winning film The Grand Budapest Hotel with a series of interviews between writer/director Wes Anderson and movie/television critic Matt Zoller Seitz.

Learn all about the film's conception, hear personal anecdotes from the set, and explore the wide variety of sources that inspired the screenplay and imagery—from author Stefan Zweig to filmmaker Ernst Lubitsch to photochrom landscapes of turn-of-the-century Middle Europe. Also inside are interviews with costume designer Milena Canonero, composer Alexandre Desplat, lead actor Ralph Fiennes, production designer Adam Stockhausen, and cinematographer Robert Yeoman; essays by film critics Ali Arikan and Steven Boone, film theorist and historian David Bordwell, music critic Olivia Collette, and style and costume consultant Christopher Laverty; and an introduction by playwright Anne Washburn. Previously unpublished production photos, artwork, and ephemera illustrate each essay and interview.

The Wes Anderson Collection: The Grand Budapest Hotel stays true to Seitz's previous book on Anderson's first seven feature films,The Wes Anderson Collection, with an artful, meticulous design and playful, original illustrations that capture the spirit of Anderson's inimitable aesthetic. Together, they offer a complete overview of Anderson's filmography to date.

Praise for the film, The Grand Budapest Hotel:

Four Academy Awards®, including Costume Design, Music - Original Score, and Production Design; Nine Academy Award nominations, including Best Picture, Directing, and Writing - Original Screenplay; Best Film - Musical or Comedy, Golden Globe Awards; Best Original Screenplay, BAFTA, WGA, NYFCC, and LAFCA Awards

Praise for the book, The Wes Anderson Collection:

The Wes Anderson Collection comes as close as a book can to reading like a Wes Anderson film. The design is meticulously crafted, with gorgeous full-page photos and touches . . .”
—Eric Thurm, The A.V. Club

Also available from Matt Zoller Seitz: Mad Men Carousel, The Oliver Stone Experience, The Wes Anderson Collection: Bad Dads, andThe Wes Anderson Collection.
 


Matt Zoller Seitz, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in criticism, is the TV critic for New York Magazine and Vulture.com, as well as the editor-in-chief of RogerEbert.com. A Brooklyn-based writer and filmmaker, Seitz has written, narrated, edited, or produced more than a hundred hours' worth of video essays about cinema history and st...
Loading
Title:The Wes Anderson Collection: The Grand Budapest HotelFormat:HardcoverDimensions:256 pages, 11.5 × 9.75 × 0.88 inPublished:February 10, 2015Publisher:Harry N. AbramsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1419715712

ISBN - 13:9781419715716

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved, loved, loved... So eccentric, loved the movie as well.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful A must have for any Wes Anderson fan or a fan of the Grand Budapest Hotel itself!
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a Steal I'm new to the world of film-buffery, but watching The Grand Budapest Hotel was like so few movies I've seen before, which led me to buying this beautiful book. Not only are the screenshots, images, and set up of the book fun to drool over, but the author's notes, actors' interviews, and detailed info about the film itself is a must-buy for Wes Anderson fans. To put it plainly, if anyone tried to borrow, break, or steal my new lovely copy, I would simply reply "Keep your hands off my lobby boy!"
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So gorgeous! I'm so happy I managed to find this in the store! Such a beautiful book.
Date published: 2017-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Beautiful book. Not much more I could have asked for. I hope one of these is made for all of Wes Anderson's movies from now on.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heaven for Wes Anderson Fans This book is a coffee table size slice of heaven for fans of Wes Anderson and The Grand Budapest Hotel. It gives you a delightful close-up look at the design in the film.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful to look at! Gave this as a gift and it almost doesn't need to be wrapped its so beautiful
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful coffee table book Gave this as a Christmas present to a WA fan. They LOVED it. Highly recommended as a gift or to enjoy for yourself.
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT VISUALS and INFORMATION The visuals in this book are truly spectacular. Also, the interesting information within the contents of this text is very captivating. Overall, this beautiful book is a creative masterpiece. It is the kindo of book that you can flip through over and over again. I purchased this book for my son; who really liked THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL movie. My son will be getting this book for Easter....I know that he will be so happy to receive it. This great book does GREAT JUSTICE to the great movie. I love, LOVE this book!!!
Date published: 2015-03-24

Editorial Reviews

“More than a companion piece to the previous book—it's a veritable companion, to be taken along on exotic trips, and to be talked to when nobody is looking.”