The Wife: A Novel Of Psychological Suspense by Alafair BurkeThe Wife: A Novel Of Psychological Suspense by Alafair Burke

The Wife: A Novel Of Psychological Suspense

byAlafair Burke

Hardcover | January 23, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$26.93 online 
$33.50 list price save 19%
Earn 135 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about


"This year's Gone Girl."Harlan Coben

His Scandal
Her Secret

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look—at both the man she married and the women she chose not to believe.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke’s Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

Title:The Wife: A Novel Of Psychological SuspenseFormat:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.13 inPublished:January 23, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062390511

ISBN - 13:9780062390516

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fabulous read! This was the first book I had read by Burke and now I can't wait to read more! Very suspenseful and hard to put down.
Date published: 2018-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty good #plumreview I was expecting more of a thriller. I found the ending disappointing.
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but.... I was looking forward to reading this book based on reviews. I was expecting a mystery/thriller but somehow it fell a bit short for me. It was good but I can't say I enjoyed it until the end so I am giving this 3.5 really for the ending. Also, this book reminded me a lot of Anatomy of a Scandal so if you enjoyed that one you will enjoy this one as well. For another similar, book but better in my opinion, read The Wife Between Us.
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous read! I have loved all of Alafair Burke's mysteries, and "The Wife" does not disappoint. From the beginning of the novel, the reader is drawn into the lives of Angela and Jason Powell. Both harbour secrets, and the reader remains entranced right to the end of the novel when those secrets are fully revealed. I found the main characters not terribly likeable, even though early on I sympathized with Angela because of her backstory. Of all the characters, I think the female detective is actually the most likeable because her motives are pure and she is persistent. Lovers of well crafted mysteries will love this book!
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great read! The story kept me interested right from the get go. Loved the unexpected twists at the end!
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good! Oh, Alafair Burke, you have outdone yourself with your new novel, The Wife! Brilliant, addictive, full of twists - and that last line ending? Perfect! I was hooked from the opening line: "In an instant, I became the woman they assumed I'd been all along: the wife who lied to protect her husband." The husband, Jason, is a celebrated public figure. When one of his interns makes an accusation against him, the foundations of his public and private lives begin to crumble. His wife, Angela, has secrets in her past that she wants to keep out of the public light. And she doesn't want her son exposed to any of it. What will Angela do to keep that secret? To protect her husband? Her son? Is Jason guilty? Or is he the victim of a campaign to discredit him and his work? Ahh, a delicious premise and one I couldn't wait to dig into! The Wife falls into the genre of 'domestic thriller'. This has fast become a favourite for me. I love not knowing who is telling the truth, the possibilities of whodunit, the turns and twists that jump out of a chapter to surprise me, and unexpected endings. "To know something, he argued, was not the same as to be certain beyond all doubt. And to believe something was definitely not the sane as to know it." Burke's characters are so well drawn, coming alive in my imagination. Angela is portrayed as a sympathetic character - but does she deserve it? I was happy to see Olivia Randall in this novel. She's a high powered defense attorney last seen in Burke's previous book, The Ex. (And I hope we see her again.) The dialogue flows easily, the plotting is addictive and the prose are so very 'readable.' The Wife benefits greatly from Burke's legal background. (Burke teaches criminal law) The case, the police investigation and the legal machinations are so well portrayed and unfold in a believable manner. Suspense, mystery, police procedural and some social commentary - The Wife has it all. This is one you're going to want to pick up. I loved it!
Date published: 2018-01-23

Editorial Reviews

“Alafair Burke executes a plot twist at the end of The Wife that left this reviewer gasping in awe.”