The Wild Princess: A Novel Of Queen Victoria's Daughters

by Mary H Perry

HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS | October 28, 2015 | Trade Paperback

Not yet rated | write a review
The astronomical success of the historical novels of Phillipa Gregory and Christine Trent prove that readers simply can’t get enough of the British royals—and now Mary Hart Perry enters the fray with an exciting, deliciously sensual novel of Queen Victoria’s “wild child” daughter, the Princess Louise. The Wild Princess transports us back to Victorian England and plunges us into the intrigues of the royal court, where the impetuous Louise brazenly followed no one’s rules but her own—even marrying a commoner, which no one of royal blood had done in the previous three centuries. Filled with rich period deal, The Wild Princess is an exciting, enthralling read. The Tudors have gotten the lion’s share of attention in historical fiction; it’s high time Queen Victoria and her family got their due!

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 352 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.97 in

Published: October 28, 2015

Publisher: HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0062123467

ISBN - 13: 9780062123466

Found in: Fiction and Literature

save 78%

  • In stock online
$22.95 list price

$5.00 ea online

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

– More About This Product –

The Wild Princess: A Novel Of Queen Victoria's Daughters

The Wild Princess: A Novel Of Queen Victoria's Daughters

by Mary H Perry

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 352 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.97 in

Published: October 28, 2015

Publisher: HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0062123467

ISBN - 13: 9780062123466

About the Book

The marriage of Queen Victoria and Prince Albert produced nine children--five of them princesses, all trained for the role of marriage to future monarchs. However, the fourth princess, Louise--later the duchess of Argyll--became known by the court as "the wild one."

From the Publisher

The astronomical success of the historical novels of Phillipa Gregory and Christine Trent prove that readers simply can’t get enough of the British royals—and now Mary Hart Perry enters the fray with an exciting, deliciously sensual novel of Queen Victoria’s “wild child” daughter, the Princess Louise. The Wild Princess transports us back to Victorian England and plunges us into the intrigues of the royal court, where the impetuous Louise brazenly followed no one’s rules but her own—even marrying a commoner, which no one of royal blood had done in the previous three centuries. Filled with rich period deal, The Wild Princess is an exciting, enthralling read. The Tudors have gotten the lion’s share of attention in historical fiction; it’s high time Queen Victoria and her family got their due!

From the Jacket

Four of the five daughters of England's Queen Victoria and Prince Albert were regal, genteel, and everything a princess should be. But one was rebellious, scandalous, and untamed.

This is her story. . . .

To the court and subjects of Queen Victoria, young Princess Louise—later the Duchess of Argyll—was the "Wild One." Proud and impetuous, she fought the constraints placed on her and her brothers and sisters, dreamed of becoming an artist, and broke with a three-hundred-year-old tradition by marrying outside of the privileged circle of European royals. Some said she wed for love. Others whispered of a scandal covered up by the Crown. It will take a handsome American, recruited by the queen's elite Secret Service, to discover the truth. But even as Stephen Byrne—code name the Raven—vows to risk his life to protect the royal family from violent Irish radicals, he tempts Louise with a forbidden love that could prove just as dangerous.

In the vein of Philippa Gregory, Mary Hart Perry tells the riveting story of an extraordinary woman—a princess who refused to give up on her dreams, including her right to true love.

About the Author

Mary Hart Perry lives in Maryland with her two cats and husband. She teaches at the Writer's Center in Washington, D.C., and is an inspiring speaker for international and regional groups interested in the joys of writing and history and the promotion of teen and adult literacy.

Editorial Reviews

“A rollicking adventure about Queen Victoria’s bold artist daughter who finds herself ensnared in a plot involving expert bombers, a murderous pimp, and the former undercover guard to Abraham Lincoln, one of which vies for her heart.”