The Wild Rose by Jennifer Donnelly

The Wild Rose

byJennifer Donnelly

Kobo ebook | August 2, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


The Wild Rose is a part of the sweeping, multi-generational saga that began with The Tea Rose and continued with The Winter Rose. It is London, 1914. World War I looms on the horizon, women are fighting for the right to vote, and explorers are pushing the limits ofendurance in the most forbidding corners of the earth. Into this volatile time, Jennifer Donnelly places her vivid and memorable characters: Willa Alden, a passionate mountain climber who lost her leg while summiting Kilimanjaro with Seamus Finnegan, and who will never forgive him for saving her life; Seamus Finnegan, a polar explorer who tries to forget Willa as he marries a beautiful young schoolteacher back home in England; Max von Brandt, a handsome German sophisticate who courts high society women, but has a secret agenda in wartime London.

Many other beloved characters from The Winter Rose continue their adventures in The Wild Rose as well. With myriad twists and turns, thrilling cliffhangers, and fabulous period detail and atmosphere, The Wild Rose provides a highly satisfying conclusion to an unforgettable trilogy.

Title:The Wild RoseFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:August 2, 2011Publisher:Hachette BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1401303846

ISBN - 13:9781401303846


Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Alright Ending to a Trilogy I love Donnelly but this last instalment of the Tea Rose trilogy was not as exciting as the first two books. Nevertheless I did enjoy the read, I was just left feeling that there was something else that I was wanting or expecting ...
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Predictable, but lovable nonetheless. This third and final(?) installment in The Tea Rose Series was just as predictable as the first two. But also just as enjoyable. Well, I shouldn't say that the first book was entirely predictable (largely, but not entirely), but the second and third follow an identical formula. They are still, however, reasonably well-researched, sweet, and moving. Despite being certain of the ending, I still found myself anxious and sad when the characters encountered their tragedies, and caring about them as if they were my friends. At approximately 600 pages each book, this series is not a quick read, but if you're looking for a good book where the hero always ends up winning (even if they have to climb mountains and lose a limb to do it - literally), this series is for you.
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The wild rose Although it is the last of this series, it doesn't dissapointed in suspense, mystery and a phenomenal love story. Old characters make appearances, new characters keep the fast pace. These books will be hard to beat.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable conclusion to the Tea triliogy I really enjoyed this (as well as the other) books in this series. I found I wanted to stay up late at night to finish the book. Well written, historically believable and a riviting read.
Date published: 2011-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The final and third book in an absolutely wonderful saga about Strong, determined women This book starts in 1913-14 prior to the beginning of World War 1. The Wild Rose is a beautifully written book full of adventure, suspense, seduction and espionage. The Wild Rose is Willa Alden who we left in the second book of the Rose Saga, a mountaineer who loses her leg in a mountaineering accident on Mt. Everest. Willa becomes a photographer with the National Geographic Society. There is interwinding relationships, intriguing characters and an exciting journey during an import historical time. Many historical characters are mentioned in the book. Jennifer Donnelly is an excellent historical fiction writer with enough historical facts added to her wonderful stories to make them not only believable, but socially accurate. Those of you who read the previous books in the Rose Saga will be reunited with favourite characters such as Fiona Finnegan Bristow, her husband Joe Bristow, Fiona's brother Seamus Finnegan, Sid Malone and India Selwyn Jones.
Date published: 2011-09-14