The Wind from the East: A Novel by Almudena Grandes

The Wind from the East: A Novel

byAlmudena Grandes

Kobo ebook | June 24, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.99

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

'This magnificent saga of shipwrecked lives grips from the first sentence and weaves parallel intrigues of memory and survivial, money and revenge, resolved only in the closing pages' Independent

In a small seaside suburb two strangers arrive - Juan Olmedo, accompanied by his mentally disabled brother and his young niece, and Sara Gomez, an enigmatic woman in her fifties. Both have their reasons for fleeing the city. Sara's father had returned from the Civil war a broken man, unable to support his family. In desperation, her mother was forced to give up the young baby to her childless employer.

Growing up amidst a background that would never truly be her own, Sara was forever caught between her love of the good life and her feelings of duty towards a family and a poverty that repelled her. Now Sara has more money than she had ever dreamed of, but her freedom has come at a price. Juan also has his reasons for wanting to start again. A doctor in the local ER unit, he is haunted by a tragedy in his family's past and by a secret sexual obsession that threatens the fragile equilibrium he has found in his new home.

An emotional, sensual, sweeping epic saga for fans of Elena Ferrante and Maggie O'Farrell.

Title:The Wind from the East: A NovelFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:June 24, 2010Publisher:ORION PUBLISHING GROUPLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0297857142

ISBN - 13:9780297857143

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews