The Winemaker's Wife by Kristin HarmelThe Winemaker's Wife by Kristin Harmel

The Winemaker's Wife

byKristin Harmel

Paperback | July 9, 2019

see the collection New & Hot Books

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.18 online 
$24.99 list price save 43%
Earn 71 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

From the author of the “engrossing” (People) and “poignant” (Booklist) international bestseller The Room on Rue Amélie comes a remarkable and moving story of love, danger, and betrayal: two women in France in the darkest days of World War II and another in present-day America on a quest to uncover the secret that connects them.

At the dawn of the Second World War, Inès is the young wife of Michel, owner of the House of Chauveau, a small champagne winery nestled among rolling vineyards near Reims, France. Marrying into a storied champagne empire was supposed to be a dream come true, but Inès feels increasingly isolated, purposely left out of the business by her husband; his chef de cave, Theo; and Theo’s wife, Sarah.

But these disappointments pale in comparison to the increasing danger from German forces pouring across the border. At first, it’s merely the Nazi weinführer coming to demand the choicest champagne for Hitler’s cronies, but soon, there are rumors of Jewish townspeople being rounded up and sent east to an unspeakable fate. The war is on their doorstep, and no one in Inès’s life is safe—least of all Sarah, whose father is Jewish, or Michel, who has recklessly begun hiding munitions for the Résistance in the champagne caves. Inès realizes she has to do something to help.

Sarah feels as lost as Inès does, but she doesn’t have much else in common with Michel’s young wife. Inès seems to have it made, not least of all because as a Catholic, she’s “safe.” Sarah, on the other hand, is terrified about the fate of her parents—and about her own future as the Germans begin to rid the Champagne region of Jews. When Sarah makes a dangerous decision to follow her heart in a desperate bid to find some meaning in the ruin, it endangers the lives of all those she cares about—and the champagne house they’ve all worked so hard to save.

In the present, Liv Kent has just lost her job—and her marriage. Her wealthy but aloof Grandma Edith, sensing that Liv needs a change of scenery before she hits rock bottom, insists that Liv accompany her on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive—and some difficult but important information to share with her granddaughter. As Liv begins to uncover long-buried family secrets, she finds herself slowly coming back to life. When past and present intertwine at last, she may finally find a way forward, along a difficult road that leads straight to the winding caves beneath the House of Chauveau.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Kate Quinn’s The Alice Network, The Winemaker’s Wife is an evocative and gorgeously wrought novel that examines how the choices we make in our darkest hours can profoundly change our lives—and how hope can come from the places we least expect.
Title:The Winemaker's WifeFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:400 pages, 9 × 6.12 × 1 inShipping dimensions:9 × 6.12 × 1 inPublished:July 9, 2019Publisher:Gallery BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1982129883

ISBN - 13:9781982129880

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great beginning, poor ending When I started this novel I really thought I would be posting a glowing review about how wonderful the story was. However, that was before I got to the end of the novel. Though the characters are interesting, the story is well developed and you don't want to put it down, the ending was horrible. Aside from being completely unbelievable, it seemed both rushed and dragged out. I got the distinct feeling the author didn't know how to end it, but on deadline decided to throw something together and go with it. It really didn't do the story justice to end it so poorly.
Date published: 2019-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have Love this book and all it’s characters. The plots and problems were amazing and I finished this book in less then a week because I just couldn’t put it down!
Date published: 2019-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome historical fiction read Love, loss, war, and champagne; this is historical fiction mixing together into a final product that is literature at its absolute finest. This vintage is just waiting on the shelves in anticipation for you to Pop it open and uncover the many facets of flavours and stories it has to provide. Harmel masterfully layers her characters and plot lines to create these lively back stories that sit so eloquently on your pallet and want you craving more of each individual`s story and what the war created of them. The story has so much fizz and surprising after thoughts (or aftertastes, if we are stilling rolling with the champagne lingo over here) that I cannot praise enough. Historical fiction lovers, YOU NEED TO READ THIS! Salut!
Date published: 2019-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good read Good book, good story. very informative about the Champagne area during WW2.
Date published: 2019-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fact and Fiction well combined. I can't begin to understand the choices people have to make during wartime, and can only imagine what I would do faced with their circumstances. There was a great deal of factual information interwoven with the lives of people handling the war in different ways. I loved the lives of the three strong women, Grandma Edith, Ines and Celine and how their worlds combined. There were WWII facts of which I was not aware previous to reading this book and have looked up more information from that stage and area of the war.
Date published: 2019-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Informative, beautiful, and tragic! The Winemaker’s Wife is a stirring, immersive story set in France during the early 1940s, as well present day, that is told primarily from three different perspectives; Inès Chauveau, a young wife who after feeling neglected and misunderstood naively makes choices that have far-reaching, life-changing consequences; Céline Laurent, the half-Jewish wife of Chauveau’s winemaker who lives in constant fear of the advancing Germans except when deep within the vineyard caves where she finds solace, hope, contentment, and love; and Liv Kent, a recently divorced American who journeys to France at the request of her grandmother only to uncover a family history that’s littered with secrets, betrayals, and sacrifices. The prose is preceptive, vivid, and sincere. The characters are courageous, vulnerable, and resilient. And the plot is a heartrending tale that gives us a unique view into the struggles, sacrifices, horrors, and bravery of those who lived and survived in the Champagne region during this heinous time in history. The Winemaker’s Wife is, ultimately, a story about life, love, loss, deception, determination, perseverance, resistance efforts, intricacies of winemaking, and the importance of forgiveness. It’s pensive, moving, and thoroughly absorbing and a fantastic choice for historical fiction fans and book clubs everywhere.
Date published: 2019-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enthralling Fabulous story during WW11. I could not put this book down. Interesting characters. Grandma Edith is so lovable.
Date published: 2019-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from enjoyable read Enjoyed this book but did find the granddaughter's character lacked the depth of the other women in the story. I felt that she had been written by an entirely different author.
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Absolutely Delicious Thank you to NetGalley, Simon & Schuster and author Ms. Kristin Harmel for this Advanced readers copy. The Winemaker's Wife, written by Kristin Harmel, is an engaging Historical Fiction novel inspired by real events. Those events took place in the Champagne Region of France during the dark days of The French Occupation by the Nazi's of World War II. 3 couples trying to survive the horrors their lives have now become, making choices based out of need, personal greed and desperation. Right or wrong, this is their story. From 1940's France to modern day New York, the choices these characters made leave a lasting mark on those they have yet to meet, but all are forever linked in ways they could never imagine. Blending the past with the present, forgiveness for choices made comes at a price...but is it ever really repaid?
Date published: 2019-05-29

Editorial Reviews

“Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever present past…fantastic!"