The Winter Witch

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

The Winter Witch

by Paula Brackston

St. Martin's Press | April 28, 2014 | Hardcover

The Winter Witch is rated 5 out of 5 by 1.

New York Times bestselling author Paula Brackston transports readers to the windswept mountains of Wales in The Winter Witch, an enthralling tale of love and magic.

In her small early nineteenth century Welsh town, there is no one quite like Morgana. She is small and quick and pretty enough to attract a suitor, but there are things that set her apart from other girls. Though her mind is sharp she has not spoken since she was a young girl. Her silence is a mystery, as well as her magic--the household objects that seem to move at her command, the bad luck that visits those who do her ill. Concerned for her safety, her mother is anxious to see Morgana married, and Cai Jenkins, the widowed drover from the far hills who knows nothing of the rumors that swirl around her, seems the best choice.

After her wedding, Morgana is heartbroken at leaving her mother, and wary of this man, whom she does not know, and who will take her away to begin a new life. But she soon falls in love with Cai's farm and the wild mountains that surround it. Here, where frail humans are at the mercy of the elements, she thrives, her wild nature and her magic blossoming. Cai works to understand the beautiful, half-tamed creature he has chosen for a bride, and slowly, he begins to win Morgana's affections. It's not long, however, before her strangeness begins to be remarked upon in her new village. A dark force is at work there--a person who will stop at nothing to turn the townspeople against Morgana, even at the expense of those closest to her. Forced to defend her home, her man, and herself from all comers, Morgana must learn to harness her power, or she will lose everything in this beautifully written, enchanting novel.

"An enthralling tale of love and magic." -USA Today

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 352 pages, 8.64 × 5.96 × 1.29 in

Published: April 28, 2014

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 1250001315

ISBN - 13: 9781250001313

Found in: Fiction and Literature

save 80%

  • Out of stock online

$5.99  ea

Online Price

$28.99 List Price

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great escape If you enjoy magic, historical fiction with a touch of romance this novel is perfect. It was a wonderful escape.
Date published: 2013-03-18

– More About This Product –

The Winter Witch

The Winter Witch

by Paula Brackston

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 352 pages, 8.64 × 5.96 × 1.29 in

Published: April 28, 2014

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 1250001315

ISBN - 13: 9781250001313

About the Book

In a 19th-century Welsh town, fledgling witch Morgana must defend her love, her home, and her life in this enthralling tale perfect for fans of "A Discovery of Witches."

Read from the Book

1. Does the spider consider herself beautiful? When she gazes into a dewdrop, does her reflection please her? Her web is finer than the finest lace, her body a bobbin working her own whisper thread. It is the web people admire. Its delicacy, its fragile strength. But the spider, poor creature, is thought of as ugly. She repulses some. Sends others into fainting fits. And yet she is beautiful, or so it seems to me. So nimble. So deft. So perfectly fashioned for the life fate has chosen for her. Like this one, here, in my palm. See how she ponders her next step, testing the surface, this way and that, her tiny feet tickling my skin, the hairs on her body sweeping my hand as she moves. How can something so exactly suited to its surroundings, to its existence, not be deserving of our admiration? How can a form so elegant, so neat, so sleek, not be recognized as beautiful? Must everything be pretty to be adored? The ladybird has black legs and a beetle body, but girls exclaim over the gaiety of her red wings and the cheerfulness of her spots. Must we always bedeck ourselves in prettiness to be thought pleasing? It would appear so. A woman must look a certain way to be worthy of a man’s attentions. It is expected. So here I stand, in a borrowed white gown, with flowers in my hair and at my waist, gaudy as a maypole, looking how I never look, presenting an aspect of myself that does not exist. It is a lie. How much happier I would be to don the gossamer spider’s web as my veil. And
read more read less

From the Publisher

New York Times bestselling author Paula Brackston transports readers to the windswept mountains of Wales in The Winter Witch, an enthralling tale of love and magic.

In her small early nineteenth century Welsh town, there is no one quite like Morgana. She is small and quick and pretty enough to attract a suitor, but there are things that set her apart from other girls. Though her mind is sharp she has not spoken since she was a young girl. Her silence is a mystery, as well as her magic--the household objects that seem to move at her command, the bad luck that visits those who do her ill. Concerned for her safety, her mother is anxious to see Morgana married, and Cai Jenkins, the widowed drover from the far hills who knows nothing of the rumors that swirl around her, seems the best choice.

After her wedding, Morgana is heartbroken at leaving her mother, and wary of this man, whom she does not know, and who will take her away to begin a new life. But she soon falls in love with Cai's farm and the wild mountains that surround it. Here, where frail humans are at the mercy of the elements, she thrives, her wild nature and her magic blossoming. Cai works to understand the beautiful, half-tamed creature he has chosen for a bride, and slowly, he begins to win Morgana's affections. It's not long, however, before her strangeness begins to be remarked upon in her new village. A dark force is at work there--a person who will stop at nothing to turn the townspeople against Morgana, even at the expense of those closest to her. Forced to defend her home, her man, and herself from all comers, Morgana must learn to harness her power, or she will lose everything in this beautifully written, enchanting novel.

"An enthralling tale of love and magic." -USA Today

About the Author

PAULA BRACKSTON has an MA in Creative Writing from Lancaster University in the UK. In 2007 she was shortlisted in the Creme de la Crime Search for new writers. She lives in Wales with her family.

Editorial Reviews

The Winter Witch is one of the most magical and compelling novels I've ever read. A tender and exquisitely written tale, with a heroine who continues to haunt your dreams long after you close the book.