The Witchfinder's Sister by Beth Underdown

The Witchfinder's Sister

byBeth Underdown

Kobo ebook | March 2, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.59 online 
$28.16 list price save 19%

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

THE MOST THRILLING HISTORICAL DEBUT OF 2017

'A compelling debut from a gifted storyteller' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent

'VIVID AND TERRIFYING' Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train


'The number of women my brother Matthew killed, so far as I can reckon it, is one hundred and six...'

1645. When Alice Hopkins' husband dies in a tragic accident, she returns to the small Essex town of Manningtree, where her brother Matthew still lives.

But home is no longer a place of safety. Matthew has changed, and there are rumours spreading through the town: whispers of witchcraft, and of a great book, in which he is gathering women's names.

To what lengths will Matthew's obsession drive him?
And what choice will Alice make, when she finds herself at the very heart of his plan?


Based on the shocking true story of the infamous witchfinder Matthew Hopkins, this haunting and gripping novel is perfect for fans of The Miniaturist, Sarah Waters and The Essex Serpent.


'If you loved The Essex Serpent...then you may have met your new favourite' Apple Books

'At once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller' Patrick Gale

'A tense, surprising and elegantly-crafted novel' Ian McGuire, author of The North Water

'A richly told and utterly compelling tale, with shades of Hilary Mantel' Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat

'Anyone who liked Cecilia Ekback's Wolf Winter is going to love this' Natasha Pulley, author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street

'Beth Underdown cleverly creates a compelling atmosphere of dread and claustrophobia... Even from the distance of nearly four hundred years, her Matthew Hopkins is a genuinely frightening monster' Kate Riordan

'Superb: dark, terrifying and utterly compelling' Tracy Borman

Title:The Witchfinder's SisterFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:March 2, 2017Publisher:Penguin Books LtdLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0241978068

ISBN - 13:9780241978061

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well Researched Although the story begins slowly, it ultimately picks up in the 2nd third. It is a tale about Alice and her brother Matthew. When Alice returns home pregnant after her husband's death, she finds a brother obsessed with the hunt for witches. Matthew truly is a vile villain, and is based upon a true historical figure who lived during the 17th century. The story evokes sympathy for the plight of women during that time - helpless to prevent blame for anything from the death of a person to soured milk. The author did an outstanding job with research and her prose is splendid. All in all, this was a very enjoyable novel that teaches us about the horrors of centuries past. Recommended!
Date published: 2017-05-31