The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins

The Woman in White

byWilkie Collins

Kobo ebook | February 26, 2008

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

Wilkie Collins's classic thriller took the world by storm on its first appearance in 1859, with everything from dances to perfumes to dresses named in honor of the "woman in white."  The novel's continuing fascination stems in part from a distinctive blend of melodrama, comedy, and realism; and in part from the power of its story.  
   
The catalyst for the mystery is Walter Hartright's encounter on a moonlit road with a mysterious woman dressed head to toe in white.  She is in a state of confusion and distress, and when Hartright helps her find her way back to London she warns him against an unnamed "man of rank and title."  Hartright soon learns that she may have escaped from an asylum and finds to his amazement that her story may be connected to that of the woman he secretly loves.  Collins brilliantly uses the device of multiple narrators to weave a story in which no one can be trusted, and he also famously creates, in the figure of Count Fosco, the prototype of the suave, sophisticated evil genius.  The Woman in White is still passed as a masterpiece of narrative drive and excruciating suspense. 

Introduction by Nicholas Rance

(Book Jacket Status: Jacketed)




From the Hardcover edition.

About The Author

Born in London, the son of artist William Collins, Wilkie Collins was educated at Highbury and spent four years in Italy with his parents. Upon his return to England, he worked first in business and then law, but eventually turned to literature. Collins created the crime novel of intricate plot and baffling mystery. The Woman in White ...
The Woman In White
The Woman In White

by Wilkie Collins

$22.12$27.00

In stock online

Not available in stores

No Thoroughfare
No Thoroughfare

by Charles Dickens

$7.50

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

The Moonstone: A Novel
The Moonstone: A Novel

by Wilkie Collins

$29.56$31.00

In stock online

Not available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:The Woman in WhiteFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:February 26, 2008Publisher:Random House Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0553904663

ISBN - 13:9780553904666

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Woman in White

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Penguin Clothbound Edition This edition is stunning! Gorgeous addition to my bookshelves.
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Incredible I was assigned this for my english class and i greatly enjoyed it. It was enticing, entertaining and down right enjoyable. A great read
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from one the first mystery novels Collins novel; the Woman in White is credited as being among the first mystery novels written. It is a beautifully written book with a great story. Worth the read
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great stroy!! Classic! Such a beautiful edition! Looks great on any bookshelf too!
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mystery Thoroughly enjoyed this story. Lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing. The use of multiple narrators to lend credence to each of their stories is effective. Which are the unreliable narrators? Is anyone telling the truth? It will keep you on the edge of your seat.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mystery This book was originally published England as a newspaper serial. It was so popular that it then came out in novel form. it is considered one of the first detective stories and the forerunner of modern detective stories. The plot revolves around the search for a mysterious woman in white and everything flows from there. To say anything more would be to give the story away. the story is very detailed and takes lots of twists and turns. A masterpiece of mystery and suspense.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautful Edition!! Stunning clothbound edition of this classics!!
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was impressed I was impressed! I mean, a book written in 1859, who knew it was going to be one of the best mysteries I would ever read? The book started a little slow, but then, the mystery and thriller elements engross you. I would have given this book five stars, but I thought the ending was a bit weak.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic! This is a classic Dickens-era novel. It starts off slow and reading is a bit of a slog, but it picks up after the first couple of chapters. An exciting mystery with some very well-written characters, including utterly despicable villains of the finest sort.
Date published: 2017-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic! It's a book which keeps you alert to find the solution and answer to a mystery.Read and enjoy !
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worth reading The Woman in White starts off slowly, but picks up its pace a few chapters in. Marian is more likeable and interesting than the protagonist's love interest.
Date published: 2017-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Mystery This is one of the first, and best, detective stories. Recommended for fans of Dickens and Sherlock Holmes.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic This is a classic mystery novel - perfect for those who can't decide whether to read Dickens or Conan Doyle next.
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't miss this one The suspense held me right to the end , one of the best I have read
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mystery and Romance I’ve always wanted to read this book but for some reason kept delaying and putting it back to the bottom of the book pile. Now that I’ve turned the last page… I’m not sure why I waited so long to read it…I loved this book. Such a well written Victorian novel. Mystery and romance. Characters who are so well defined, they jumped off the pages and sat down beside me while I read. The words of Wilkie Collins flow. They just flow and meander so effortlessly that reading this book is like drinking a fine glass of wine. I will be raving about this book for some time to come! Lastly, this statement from DailyLit, sums it up very nicely: “Never out of print since its first publication, the mystery of The Woman in White continues to intrigue readers to this day with its ghostly beauty and unforgettable events.” If you haven’t read it…go read!
Date published: 2013-10-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Victorian for this Generation Xer I expected more from this book given that it is widely considered one of Wilkie Collins' masterpieces and one of the earliest entries into the "mystery writing" genre. Yes, I can excuse the Victorian vocabulary and mannerisms of the writer (and his characters), but I am loathe to accept some of the other things that Collins includes in his novel. For example, the heinous "crime" that must be righted is merely a question of family honour. The villains in the book are described as being evil and vile while also sporting an obvious "gentlemanly" manner towards the protagonists (one of the baddies even has a crush on one of the women involved, and for that reason struggles with his "heinous" crime). I guess the English readers of the mid-1800's would have been disgusted at a gutsy, gory serial killer / madman whodunit written by a more contemporary writer like Jeffery Deaver or Michael Connelly, but this Collins' mystery is too convoluted to enjoy it as what is prescribes to be: a good mystery.
Date published: 2012-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Intriguing I was really curious about this book. First because it is mentioned in other novels I have read, and also because, after having done some research, it is considered to be one of the first mystery novels ever written. I found it fascinating! Yes, it can be a little descriptive at times, but the suspense is very well built and I thought it was very cleverly set up. I really enjoyed it!
Date published: 2010-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely great If you have no trouble reading the style of Jane Austen then you will find this book very difficult to put down. The story is so compelling that you want to read on and on. A very ingenious detective story in which the author not only keeps a reader's attention but he takes care to cover and explain all characters' actions so a reader never feels left "hanging" because of unexplained scenes introduced.
Date published: 2010-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from typical victorian novel Like most if not all Victorian novels, this book is really long and very descriptive. I gave up after about 400 pages. Any of the good qualities in this book (I've heard it called a 'pychological thriller') are lost in the length and the excruciating detail, in my opinion.
Date published: 2005-04-12