The World We Found: A Novel

Paperback | July 31, 2012

byThrity Umrigar

not yet rated|write a review
Thrity Umrigar, acclaimed author of The Space Between Us and The Weight of Heaven, returns with a breathtaking new novel—a skillfully wrought, emotionally resonant story of four women and the indelible friendship they share. Fans of Jennifer Haigh’s Faith, Jhumpa Lahiri’s Interpreter of Maladies, and Katrina Kittle’s The Kindness of Strangers will be captivated by Umrigar’s The World We Found—a moving story of bottled secrets, unfulfilled dreams, and the acceptance that can still lead to redemption, from a writer whom the New York Times calls “perceptive and often piercing.”

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.48 online
$18.50 list price (save 27%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Thrity Umrigar, acclaimed author of The Space Between Us and The Weight of Heaven, returns with a breathtaking new novel—a skillfully wrought, emotionally resonant story of four women and the indelible friendship they share. Fans of Jennifer Haigh’s Faith, Jhumpa Lahiri’s Interpreter of Maladies, and Katrina Kittle’s The Kindness of St...

From the Jacket

As university students in late 1970s Bombay, Armaiti, Laleh, Kavita, and Nishta were inseparable. Spirited and unconventional, they challenged authority and fought for a better world. But over the past thirty years, the quartet has drifted apart, the day-to-day demands of work and family tempering the revolutionary fervor they once sha...

Thrity Umrigar is the author of five other novels—The World We Found,The Weight of Heaven,The Space Between Us,If Today Be Sweet, andBombay Time—and the memoirFirst Darling of the Morning. An award-winning journalist, she has been a contributor to theWashington Post,Boston Globe, andHuffington Post, among other publications. She is the...

other books by Thrity Umrigar

The Story Hour: A Novel
The Story Hour: A Novel

Hardcover|Aug 19 2014

$21.04 online$31.99list price(save 34%)
The Space Between Us: A Novel
The Space Between Us: A Novel

Paperback|Oct 11 2016

$12.50

If Today Be Sweet: A Novel
If Today Be Sweet: A Novel

Paperback|May 20 2008

$5.99 online$25.50list price(save 76%)
see all books by Thrity Umrigar
Format:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.76 inPublished:July 31, 2012Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061938351

ISBN - 13:9780061938351

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The World We Found: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“A storyteller through and through, Umrigar ensures that her characters face up to the costs and consequences created by their choices, right or wrong, principled or unprincipled.”