There's A Story In Every Box: Poems For Big Kids And Little Kids by Doc LawrenceThere's A Story In Every Box: Poems For Big Kids And Little Kids by Doc Lawrence

There's A Story In Every Box: Poems For Big Kids And Little Kids

byDoc Lawrence

Paperback | March 29, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.91 online 
$18.50 list price
Earn 90 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

There's A Story In Every Box, poems for big kids and little kids is the title of a collection of captivating and unpredictable poems by Doc Lawrence. The poems range from outrageously funny to the quietly affecting and in between, igniting the imagination of children and grown -ups alike. By blending whimsy with a variety of rhythmic language along with mental and physical imagery children are introduced to poetry in a fun and memorable way. Meant to be read aloud, the poems wrap adult concepts into packages fit for various age groups. They sever conventional tethers causing children's creative sparks to fly often serving as inspiration for parenting as well as teaching tools. Come in and meet Gina Vanetti who creates a town of spaghetti. Young ones fearful of the dark find courage to explore the closet for ripplezips and heskelunks. This is a place where meats and beets on rice crispy treats and egg foo young on deli tongue are served up with a healthy portion of silliness. Consider how a fish would zip up his pants and get the horse's point of view. You can kick a can all the way to Japan and along the way have fun learning world geography. No one will be able to resist Pootin' Pete who ignored his mother's pleas for good nutrition. Thought provoking life lessons are woven into the poems that stimulate further discussion in the home and in the classroom. In the tradition of Dr. Seuss and Shel Silverstein, Doc Lawrence's poems connect with humans on all levels. Individuality and compassion with a dose of practicality promote cultural crossover. The poems are funny, serious, and sometimes surreal. This book is destined to become a dog-eared classic residing on bedroom tables and in classrooms for generations to come.
Title:There's A Story In Every Box: Poems For Big Kids And Little KidsFormat:PaperbackDimensions:136 pages, 11 × 8.25 × 0.29 inPublished:March 29, 2011Publisher:AuthorhouseLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1456746111

ISBN - 13:9781456746117

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews