These Things I've Done by Rebecca PhillipsThese Things I've Done by Rebecca Phillips

These Things I've Done

byRebecca Phillips

Hardcover | August 1, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.19 online 
$21.99 list price
Earn 106 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A haunting and beautiful YA novel that is perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Jessi Kirby, These Things I've Done is the story of a seventeen-year-old girl who accidentally caused her best friend’s death and, a year later, is still grappling with the consequences.

“A beautiful, wrenching depiction of loss, the aftermath, and an unexpected ray of light in the darkness. These Things I've Done is equal parts heartfelt and heartbreaking, and absolutely unputdownable.” —Gina Ciocca, author of Last Year's Mistake

These Things I’ve Done is a raw and beautiful story about recovering and moving on in the aftermath of a tragedy, about the moments when self-forgiveness and peace feel unattainable. Dara’s journey through this struggle is compelling and deeply affecting. Her story will stay with readers long after the last page.” —Charlotte Huang, author of For the Record and Going Geek

BEFORE: Dara and Aubrey have been inseparable since they became best friends in sixth grade. Dara is the fearless one, Aubrey the prodigy, yet despite their differences, they support each other unconditionally. However, as they begin their sophomore year of high school, cracks in their friendship begin to form, testing the bond they always thought was unbreakable.

AFTER: It's been fifteen months since the accident that killed Aubrey, and not a day goes by that Dara isn't racked with guilt over her role in her best friend's death. Now, after spending a year away from home in order to escape the constant reminders of what happened, Dara is back at her old high school to start her senior year. Dara thought the worst thing about coming home would be confronting the memories of Aubrey that relentlessly haunt her, but she soon realizes it isn't half as difficult as seeing Ethan, Aubrey's brother, every day. Not just because he's a walking reminder of what she did, but because the more her feelings for him change, the more she knows she's betraying her best friend one final time.

Rebecca Phillips is the author of the JUST YOU series, OUT OF NOWHERE, FAKING PERFECT, and ANY OTHER GIRL. Rebecca lives just outside the beautiful city of Halifax, Nova Scotia, with her husband, two children, and one spoiled- rotten cat. She absolutely loves living so close to the ocean. Visit Rebecca on her website www.rebeccawritesy...
Loading
Title:These Things I've DoneFormat:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.13 inPublished:August 1, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062570900

ISBN - 13:9780062570901

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from There's so much tragedy in this book but there's also so much hope! I loved it. I went through many emotions while reading this book and when I got to the end I couldn't help but cry a little bit!! This book is about friendship, love, grief, and family. These Things I've Done follows Dara before and after the tragic accident that kills her best friend, Aubrey, which Dara happens to witness. Quickly labeled as the cause of Aubrey's death by classmates Dara is pushed to live with her aunt and uncle, out of town, by her parents. Dara's parents want her to get better and to move forward from what happened to Aubrey but she sees moving away as running from her problems instead of facing what happened to her best friend. Dara feels responsible and wants to personally apologize to Aubrey's brother, Ethan, about what happened. Ethan and Aubrey's we're close and Ethan became Dara's friend too but they haven't talked since before Aubry's death. These Things I've Done is heartbreaking but also heartwarming! There were times I was in tears and there were times I felt so happy for the joy, support and love Dara eventually finds.
Date published: 2017-08-30

Editorial Reviews

“This tender novel explores the challenging themes of grief and deep, overpowering regret.”