Things I Should Have Known

Hardcover | March 28, 2017

byClaire Lazebnik

not yet rated|write a review
An unforgettable story about autism, sisterhood, and first love that's perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sophie Kinsella, and Sarah Dessen. New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things Julie Buxbaum raved: I couldn't put it down."

Meet Chloe Mitchell, a popular Los Angeles girl who's decided that her older sister, Ivy, who's on the autism spectrum, could use a boyfriend. Chloe already has someone in mind: Ethan Fields, a sweet, movie-obsessed boy from Ivy's special needs class.

Chloe would like to ignore Ethan's brother, David, but she can't-Ivy and Ethan aren't comfortable going out on their own so Chloe and David have to tag along. Soon Chloe, Ivy, David, and Ethan form a quirky and wholly lovable circle. And as the group bonds over frozen yogurt dates and movie nights, Chloe is forced to confront her own romantic choices-and the realization that it's okay to be a different kind of normal."

Pricing and Purchase Info

$24.99

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

An unforgettable story about autism, sisterhood, and first love that's perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sophie Kinsella, and Sarah Dessen. New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things Julie Buxbaum raved: I couldn't put it down." Meet Chloe Mitchell, a popular Los Angeles girl who's decided that her older sister, Ivy, who...

Claire LaZebnik has written five novels for adults including Same As It Never Was (which was made into the ABC Family movie, Hello Sister, Goodbye Life), Knitting Under the Influence, and Families and Other Non-Returnable Gifts . Her young adult novels include Epic Fail, The Trouble with Flirting, The Last Best Kiss, and Wrong About...

other books by Claire Lazebnik

Epic Fail
Epic Fail

Paperback|Aug 2 2011

$10.54 online$12.50list price(save 15%)
Wrong About The Guy
Wrong About The Guy

Paperback|Apr 21 2015

$12.50

Overcoming Autism: Finding The Answers, Strategies, And Hope That Can Transform A Child's Life
Overcoming Autism: Finding The Answers, Strategies, And...

Paperback|Mar 25 2014

$18.17 online$19.00list price
see all books by Claire Lazebnik
Format:HardcoverDimensions:320 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.08 inPublished:March 28, 2017Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0544829697

ISBN - 13:9780544829695

Customer Reviews of Things I Should Have Known

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

More a love story about sisterhood than romantic, it's a story that will illuminate what it's like to live an ordinary teenage life when you have autism." -Bustle "LaZebnik hits it out of the park with her story about pretty, popular Chloe and her loving relationship with her older, autistic sister, Ivy? With perceptiveness and ample skill, LaZebnik paints a vivid picture of what the sibling of a person with high-functioning autism might go through. Never resorting to stereotype, she depicts appealing, three-dimensional characters who flesh out a narrative that is compassionate, tender, funny, and wise all at once. This insightful, well-written story will entertain readers while inspiring meaningful empathy." -Booklist, starred review "In this insightful account of misconceptions, family conflict, and the ironies of love, LaZebnik ( Wrong About the Guy ) examines the evolution of several relationships. . . . Writing with honesty and wit, LaZebnik offers a thought-provoking portrayal of how people can come together despite, or perhaps because of, their differences." -Publishers Weekly "An eye-opening look at autism and those it touches." -Kirkus "This story about a girl who upends her own life by trying to help someone else is a winning read for young people ready for a realistic romance about life's challenges." -School Library Journal "A charmingly honest, insightful story about love, family, and frozen yogurt. So good you'll finish it in one sitting!" -Robyn Schneider, author of The Beginning of Everything and Extraordinary Means " Things I Should Have Known is funny, compassionate, and loving. LaZebnik writes with authority and ease, capturing the complexities of sibling bonds and first love, and crafting characters to root for from start to finish." -Emma Mills, author of First & Then "At once romantic and touching, perceptive and honest, Things I Should Have Known is about first love, the bonds of sisterhood, and living your most authentic life. I couldn't put it down." -Julie Buxbaum, author of Tell Me Three Things "A fiercely honest and surprising story about family, first love, and the beauty of individuality. LaZebnik reminds us that sometimes the most wonderful things in life are the things you never expected." -Ashley Blake, author of Suffer Love "Chloe and her sister are so authentically portrayed, they nearly leap off the page. . . . This story about a girl who upends her own life by trying to help someone else is a winning read for young people ready for a realistic romance about life's challenges." - School Library Journal "