Things That Surprise You

August 22, 2017|
Things That Surprise You by Jennifer Maschari
$21.00
Hardcover
Earn 105 plum® points
1% of net proceeds from this book helps children in high-needs communities through the Indigo Love of Reading Foundation
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Ships within 1-2 weeks.Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

A poignant, charming middle grade novel, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and Fish in a Tree. A beautifully layered story about navigating the often shifting bonds of family and friendship, and learning how to put the pieces back together when things fall apart.

Emily Murphy is about to enter middle school. She's sort of excited…though not nearly as much as her best friend Hazel, who is ready for everything to be new. Emily wishes she and Hazel could just continue on as they always have, being the biggest fans ever of the Unicorn Chronicles, making up dance moves, and getting their regular order at The Slice.

But things are changing. At home, Emily and her mom are learning to move on after her parents' divorce. Hardest of all, her beloved sister Mina has been in a treatment facility to deal with her anorexia. Emily is eager to have her back, but anxious about her sister getting sick again.

Hazel is changing too. She has new friends from the field hockey team, is starting to wear makeup, and have crushes on boys. Emily is trying to keep up, but she keeps doing and saying the wrong thing. She wants to be the perfect new Emily. But who is that really?

Jennifer Maschari likes to write books about kids who are brave. She lives in Ohio with her husband and her stinky (but noble) English bulldogs, Oliver and Hank. She is also the author of The Remarkable Journey of Charlie Price. Learn more about Jennifer at www.jenmaschari.com.
Loading
Title:Things That Surprise You
Format:Hardcover
Product dimensions:288 pages, 8.25 X 5.5 X 0.97 in
Shipping dimensions:288 pages, 8.25 X 5.5 X 0.97 in
Published:August 22, 2017
Publisher:HarperCollins
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:9 - 12
ISBN - 13:9780062438928

Recently Viewed
|