This Is Where The World Ends by Amy ZhangThis Is Where The World Ends by Amy Zhang

This Is Where The World Ends

byAmy Zhang

Hardcover | March 22, 2016

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.29 online 
$21.50 list price save 5%
Earn 101 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A heart-wrenching novel about best friends on a collision course with the real world from Amy Zhang, the critically acclaimed Indies Introduce and Indie Next author of Falling into Place.

Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s been ever since elementary school, when Janie Vivien moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It’s the perfect friendship—as long as no one finds out about it. But then Janie goes missing and everything Micah thought he knew about his best friend is colored with doubt.

Using a nonlinear writing style and dual narrators, Amy Zhang masterfully reveals the circumstances surrounding Janie’s disappearance in an astonishing second novel that will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver and Jay Asher.

Details & Specs

Title:This Is Where The World EndsFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.01 inPublished:March 22, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062383043

ISBN - 13:9780062383044

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of This Is Where The World Ends

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sweet! Very enjoyable, good writing and character development.
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Such Powerful Writing Short & Sweet: A GORGEOUSLY written fast paced novel on rape, friendship and dreams. Amy Zhang’s writing is powerful and will stay with you for a while. Let’s break it down: WRITING: Amy Zhang’s writing is what brings this book alive. Told in both Janie and Micah’s point of view, her writing adapts to bring out the voices of her characters and does it well. Micah has selective retrograde amnesia (he can’t make new memories) and Janie is a chaotic soul filled with dreams and beginnings and I felt like I got to know these characters because of Zhang’s writing. IDEA: I love the idea for the story. If there’s one thing you can say about This Is Where The World Ends and also about Janie and Micah it’s that they don’t fall into normal YA tropes. This story is about dreams and reality and friendship and love and tragedy and rape and IT WAS SO GORGEOUS. PLOT: It was the writing that really brought this book alive, but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t plotted well. This book switches from Janie (before) to Micah (after) and it also shows you Janie’s diary/ senior thesis (with some GORGEOUS illustrations) and it was all really well planned out. Everything about this plot worked just right and I LOVED IT. CHARACTERS: I liked Micah and Janie. Their story was a good one, brought alive by the exceptional writing which I can’t talk about enough. At the same time, WITHOUT the writing, I can’t help but feel like the pair would have been the most CLICHÉ characters in the world. Both Micah and Janie were pretty much the main characters of John Green’s Paper Towns with a twist here are there. Also, Janie’s attitude towards Micah annoyed me. She kept saying hurtful things like “I know he’s in love with me and I’ll get there too. Someday” and “It was easier to not stay friends in school because of her image,” and it all made me kinds of MAD? She wasn’t a real friend to him, not where it counted. I also HAVE to talk about that ONE last scene. The book was BEAUTIFUL. The ending was even better and there was this last scene with Dewey and Micah that fell so completely FLAT, it made me cringe. I’ve only experienced bad endings, not bad last scenes but this one was so MEH after such a good book. CONCLUSION: This is Where The Worlds Ends is constructed with exquisite writing and gives you a story you won’t forget for a long time.
Date published: 2017-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a book I could not put down. I read this book while I was on vacation in Vegas and it falls into the "I devoured it" category. Once I picked it up (on the plane), I could not put it down. One of the best realistic YA novels I've read in a while. Why did I love this book so much? Well, as you may know if you read any of my reviews, the characters where painfully real and that hooked me. Micah is a nerdy boy who has a secret relationship with Janie (his next door neighbour). They have been best friends since they were young and share everything ... according to Janie they share a soul. But Janie doesn't want anyone to know how close her and Micah are. Micah goes along because he's clearly in love with her and they have been friends forever. Janie is the type of character who compartmentalizes her entire life. She has her Janie and Micah compartment, she has her dream compartment (which holds her hopes for taking a gap year in Nepal and working in an orphanage) and then she has her school/friend/popular kid/boyfriend compartment. Micah is only allowed to be part of the first and second compartments but at school and in social settings, Janie pretends she doesn't know him. This is such a real high school relationship, at times it was hard to read. My daughter had a friend who did this to her. He was besties outside of social settings but he didn't include her at school or parties or things like that. My heart broke a bit for Micah, who doesn't understand why Janie does this but goes along with it because that's just Janie. Amy Zhang writes this from both characters' points of view, so the reader does get to see what's going on in Janie's head. We can see that Janie believes that Micah and her will end up together in the end. But that's in the far distant future and for now she wants to have fun. Micah will always be there for her. After all they are destined to be together. And as a reader, you want to believe her. Right from the opening pages of the book, though, you know something is off. Micah wakes in hospital with no memory of what happened to him. He's had a head injury and keeps losing memories. And Janie isn't there. And she's not answering his texts. His buddy tells him that she went to Nepal (where she always wanted to go) and Micah believes him. But things don't add up. As the story unravels, moving back and forward in time, the sequence of events slowly unfold until the reader understands what happens. Without giving it all away, this book deals with heavy topics including mental wellness and brain injury. I strongly recommend This is Where the World Ends. Great book!
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pockets of pretty writing eclipsed by stock characters I very rarely dislike a book so much that I can’t finish, but This Is Where The World Ends was, unfortunately, one of them. My main issue with this book was that the characters and the story were just…not compelling. I felt like I barely knew Janie and Micah after the 100 pages I got through, and as I skimmed through the rest of the book, the “reveal” was so predictable and frustrating that I had no reaction to it. There are pockets of pretty writing, but those were eclipsed by the utterly miserable characters. I know it was supposed to be about unlikeable characters and toxic friendships, but the problem was, the characters felt like stock YA characters – the artsy, flighty girl everyone wants to be and be friends with; the boy next door who’s good and in love with her, and his best friend who is trying to pull him out of depression. If they had turned into real people or I saw a glimpse of something more than that, I might have been more interested, but it felt like that was never going to happen and I wasn’t invested enough to stick around. Very disappointing as I enjoyed Zhang’s debut, Falling into Place, a lot, and some of what happens with the reveal could have been a lot more realistically and sensitively explored.
Date published: 2016-04-08

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Zhang switches between Janie’s thoughts before the fire and Micah’s after, bridging the two with unsettling fractured fairy tales from Janie’s senior English project…Zhang’s subject and tone recall books like Paper Towns and Thirteen Reasons Why.”