This Light Between Us: A Novel Of World War Ii

January 7, 2020|
This Light Between Us: A Novel Of World War Ii by Andrew Fukuda
$24.50
Hardcover
Earn 123 plum® points
Ships free on orders over $35

In stock online

Available in stores

To see store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

For readers of The Librarian Of Auschwitz, This Light Between Us is a powerfully affecting story of World War II about the unlikeliest of pen pals-a Japanese American boy and a French Jewish girl-as they fight to maintain hope in a time of war.

"I remember visiting Manzanar and standing in the windswept plains where over ten thousand internees were once imprisoned, their voices cut off. I remember how much I wanted to write a story that did right by them. Hopefully this book delivers."-Andrew Fukuda

In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki from Bainbridge Island, Washington is disgusted when he''s forced to become pen pals with Charlie Lévy of Paris, France-a girl. He thought she was a boy. In spite of Alex''s reluctance, their letters continue to fly across the Atlantic-and along with them, the shared hopes and dreams of friendship. Until the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the growing Nazi persecution of Jews force them to confront the darkest aspects of human nature.

From the desolation of an internment camp on the plains of Manzanar to the horrors of Auschwitz and the devastation of European battlefields, the only thing they can hold onto are the memories of their letters. But nothing can dispel the light between them.

Born in Manhattan and raised in Hong Kong, ANDREW FUKUDA earned a bachelor''s degree in history from Cornell University and worked as a criminal prosecutor for seven years before becoming a full-time writer. Fukuda''s experience volunteering with the immigrant teen community in Manhattan''s Chinatown led to the writing of Crossing, his...
Loading
Title:This Light Between Us: A Novel Of World War IiFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:384 pages, 8.58 X 5.67 X 1.34 inShipping dimensions:384 pages, 8.58 X 5.67 X 1.34 inPublished:January 7, 2020Publisher:Tom Doherty AssociatesLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1250192382

ISBN - 13:9781250192387

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: