This Little Piggy by Bea Davenport

This Little Piggy

byBea Davenport

Kobo ebook | October 1, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.89 online 
$11.98 list price save 17%

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

'Addictive reading... Bea has a rare ability to create the true atmosphere of a place and time, and to take the reader there.' --Rachel Abbott'This Little Piggy is a gripping, devastating and utterly absorbing read. I found myself thinking of the characters long after the book had ended.' --Emma Kavanagh'Deeply compelling, quietly threatening.' --Caro RamsayIt's the summer of 1984 and there is a sense of unease on the troubled Sweetmeadows estate. The residents are in shock after the suspicious death of a baby and tension is growing due to the ongoing miners' strike.Journalist Clare Jackson follows the story as police bungle the inquiry and struggle to contain the escalating violence. Haunted by a personal trauma she can't face up to, Clare is shadowed by nine-year-old Amy, a bright but neglected little girl who seems to know more about the incident than she's letting on.As the days go on and the killer is not found, Clare ignores warnings not to get too close to her stories and, in doing so, puts her own life in jeopardy.A gripping thriller perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Mark Edwards and B A Paris
Title:This Little PiggyFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:October 1, 2014Publisher:Legend Times GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1909878626

ISBN - 13:9781909878624

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A thriller with strong and engaging characters and a faultlessly rendered setting. Although the Northern England of thirty years ago seems a lifetime and a world away, Bea Davenport transports the reader to the setting of “This Little Piggy“ with a finesse which belies the fact that this is only her second crime novel. The action takes place in a small northern mining town during a miner’s strike. During the hot summer of 1984, the tensions of the strikers, the miner’s families and the police were made palpable. The protagonist, Clare Jackson, is a journalist who has recently been passed over for promotion due to the fact that she did not show up for the interview. But believe me… she had her reasons. Meanwhile she has to put up with the scorn of her superiors and the smarmy guy who got the job in her stead. When Clare learns of a baby’s death at the Sweetmeadows housing estate, she sees a headline story. But this time, following her reporters’ nose presents her with more difficulties that she could have ever dreamed of. The baby who fell (or was dropped) to his death was Jamie, the nine-month-old son of one of the ‘scab’ miners. Could this have been bitter retaliation for his father breaking the strike line? The baby’s grandmother thinks so. But Clare thinks there is more to the story that that. After interviewing various residents of the council estate Clare meets Amy, a young ragamuffin of a girl who is neglected by her single mother. Amy knew baby Jamie and used to play “This little piggy” with him. She is naturally traumatized by his death. When Clare, who is pretty, dresses nicely and has an interesting job takes an interest in her – Amy blooms under the attention. Clare listens to Amy and takes her seriously – which is all nine-year-old children really want and what has been absent from Amy’s life until now… Clare has been warned by Amy’s mother and even by the police that Amy ‘tells tales’ and cannot quite be trusted, but Clare wants to give her the benefit of the doubt. By befriending the girl Clare precipitates events which bring her joy, sadness and danger. When baby Jamie’s mother also dies, the case takes some suspenseful turns and leads to volatile and heartbreaking events. Set in a time that I remember well – when cell phones were seldom seen (and if they were they were the size of bricks) – before computer keyboards, back when typewriters were used – this novel brought back a host of memories. The author – a journalist herself – writes with compassion and expert knowledge of her subject. Strongly recommended to anyone who likes a thriller with strong and engaging characters and a faultlessly rendered setting. I will watch out for further novels by Bea Davenport in future! This review was previously published Nov. 20, 2014 on the blog "Fictionophile".
Date published: 2015-02-25