This Savage Song

Paperback | May 16, 2017

byVictoria Schwab

not yet rated|write a review

#1 New York Times Bestseller!

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.12 online
$12.50 list price (save 11%)
Pre-order online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

#1 New York Times Bestseller!There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books...

From the Jacket

Kate Harker wants to be as ruthless as her father. After five years and six boarding schools, she’s finally going home to prove that she can be.August Flynn wants to be human. But he isn’t. He’s a monster, one that can steal souls with a song. He’s one of the three most powerful monsters in a city overrun with them. His own father’s se...

Victoria Schwab is a fantasy writer best known for her novel Vicious.

other books by Victoria Schwab

This Savage Song
This Savage Song

Hardcover|Jul 5 2016

$14.69 online$21.99list price(save 33%)
The Archived
The Archived

Paperback|Jan 7 2014

$10.94 online$10.99list price
Spirit Animals: Fall of the Beasts Book 2: Broken Ground
Spirit Animals: Fall of the Beasts Book 2: Broken Groun...

Hardcover|Jan 1 2016

$14.83 online$16.99list price(save 12%)
see all books by Victoria Schwab
Format:PaperbackDimensions:464 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 1.05 inPublished:May 16, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062380869

ISBN - 13:9780062380869

Customer Reviews of This Savage Song

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Unique, thrilling, and impossible to predict, This Savage Song is something entirely new, and fans of YA will want to seek out this dark and powerful novel. ...Schwab has written a book with moments of cruelty and bleakness that also includes high adventure and heroic achievements.”