This Savage Song by Victoria SchwabThis Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

This Savage Song

byVictoria Schwab

Paperback | May 16, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.53 online 
$12.50 list price save 7%
Earn 58 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

#1 New York Times Bestseller * An Amazon Best Book of the Year

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

Victoria Schwab is a fantasy writer best known for her novel Vicious.
Loading
Title:This Savage SongFormat:PaperbackDimensions:480 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 1.08 inPublished:May 16, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062380869

ISBN - 13:9780062380869

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed it! The plot of this story is very unique and I love how it focused on friendship rather than shoehorning in a romance. It was dark and fast-paced and I do plan on continuing with the series!
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great This book had a story unlike anything else I have read and I would recommend it to read
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay It took a while to really get into it. I thought it was okay but not great.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love! I really enjoyed this book! I liked how there was little to no romance and mostly focused on the plot and story! Love the characters as well
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing!! I love how this is not a love story.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from dark and fast paced Stayed up probably a little too late to finish reading #ThisSavageSong by #VictoriaSchwab This book is about August who doesn't want to be a monster; And Kate who wants nothing more than for her father to be proud of her. In a world where safety is bought and monsters are everywhere; these 2 teens are really just trying to survive. I decided to give it a read after seeing so many booktubers gush over it, and I was definitely not disappointed. This was a really great book that makes you question your definition of monster. I can't wait to pick up the sequel. #plumreview
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing book from VE schwab i loved her DSoM series, and with this one, although it was a little slow to get into, is just as good, if not better. It's got great character interactions and full of action, gripping plot, and the suspense and thrill of Kate trying to solve the mystery of August Flynn. I LOVED IT.
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good I liked it, the plot was great and it was full of action!
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked it! Just read this and enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would! The world is well built and I enjoyed the author's writing style.
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Good! Victoria Schwab is by far my favourite author of all time and the Savage song is just another book that she has written so beautifully.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO MUCH LOVE FOR THIS BOOK This book was so good I loved the characters and the world, it was so different from Victoria's other books and I really liked the friendship between August and Kate. I will be starting our Dark Duet in a matter of seconds, I can't wait to read the conclusion to this novel.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING Please read it! I picked it up and just devoured it! I loved how it really showed that no ones perfect, the characters had many faults, and that's just the way people are :)
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful There has not been a book that Victoria Schwab has written that I haven't enjoyed. She has wonderful world building, amazing plots and lovely characters. Love the whole "monster lore" as well that she has created.
Date published: 2017-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! This book doesn't just have a beautiful cover, it has an very well written story to accompany it!
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved reading every page I didn’t know what the hype was all about until I saw the second book released just recently. Took out this book and in the first day I was half way through. It was addicting and it moved at a fast pace. It took me a little long to warm up to these characters and the setting. The setting is interesting, with the three different groups of monsters infesting the area. There was some sort of catastrophic event and the area was split into two. I rather like the way the world is being set up in this case. We have monsters. Not vampires, or werewolves, or some other mythical creatures we are familiar with. These are different and nothing that I have come across yet in the novels I have read in the past. I rather wish there was more history in regards to world building. Or at least, a bit more information but it doesn’t deter the reader from enjoying the novel. Kate and August are both great characters and opposites. Kate, who is a complete bad ass and August who is trying to fit in and be normal. I like them because first of all, they aren’t filled with besotted love like some YA novels have out there or worse yet, they fall in love and the world crashes around them. I’m glad this book doesn’t have any of that nonsense. They both use each other as a means to an end but they end up being unspoken friends despite their differences. What I like the most about these two is, they both exposed themselves to vulnerability to each other and learnt a lot from their respective groups. The plot itself is very interesting and readable. The action is good and not over the top dramatic. The twist near the end is predictable but what you didn’t see coming is the ending and you’re left with either being blown away or….well there’s no other is there? You’re just straight out blown away. Definitely recommended for YA readers. I’m off to get the second one. I enjoyed this book immensely.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so interesting I loved the world building of this and the characters, very beautifully written
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok The premise was really creative and interesting, but I just could really get into it.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from monstrous, gripping and fantastic ! This Savage Song is for readers who are looking for a novel that is kick butt, gruesome, lively and fantastic urban world-building. I love every bloody scene, to awkard mundane moments between human Kate and monster August. I cannot explain the giddy feeling as the book got darker and more gripping. I think this book is really for readers who are fed up with the same love angst troupes and are craving to the something wicked. I never been let down from Victoria Schwab, I promise you its great. Any reader, Male or Female can read this book because of how raw, and thrilling each character is. Just pick up the book and be place into a trace that will crave for the second one.
Date published: 2017-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So imaginative! This story was dark and addictive. I really enjoyed the creative premise of this book...the way the monsters in the story came into being was so interesting and unique. Great writing, and I found the main characters (both monster and human) to be complex and three-dimensional. Loved the ending and am looking forward to reading the next book in this series!
Date published: 2017-02-13

Editorial Reviews

“Unique, thrilling, and impossible to predict, This Savage Song is something entirely new, and fans of YA will want to seek out this dark and powerful novel. ...Schwab has written a book with moments of cruelty and bleakness that also includes high adventure and heroic achievements.”