Three American Composers by Edith BorroffThree American Composers by Edith Borroff

Three American Composers

byEdith Borroff

Hardcover | June 4, 1986

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 618 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 3-5 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Traces the power shift from the apprentice/conservatory system of training composers to the university system, which took place in the United States from 1925ó1975. Describes how this change influenced the works of three renowned American composers: Irwin Fischer, Ross Lee Finney, and George Crumb.
Edith Borroff is Professor of Music at the State University of New York at Binghamton.
Title:Three American ComposersFormat:HardcoverDimensions:310 pages, 8.64 × 5.74 × 0.98 inPublished:June 4, 1986Publisher:UPA

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0819153710

ISBN - 13:9780819153715


Editorial Reviews

...valuable for the information it contains....Edith Boroff's writing is eloquent and committed. In exploring this fascinating subject, she has rendered a great service to those interested in music education in this country.