Timekeeper by Tara SimTimekeeper by Tara Sim

Timekeeper

byTara Sim

Hardcover | November 8, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.04 online 
$25.99 list price save 38%
Earn 80 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Two o’clock was missing.

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

Sky Pony Press, with our Good Books, Racehorse and Arcade imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of books for young readers—picture books for small children, chapter books, books for middle grade readers, and novels for young adults. Our list includes bestsellers for children who love to play Minecraft; stories told with LEGO bricks; books that teach lessons about tolerance, patience, and the environment, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
Tara Sim can typically be found wandering the wilds of the Bay Area in California. When she’s not chasing cats or lurking in bookstores, she writes books about magic, clocks, and explosives. Timekeeper is her debut novel. Follow her on Twitter at @EachStarAWorld, and check out her website for fun Timekeeper extras.
Loading
Title:TimekeeperFormat:HardcoverDimensions:424 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 5.5 inPublished:November 8, 2016Publisher:Sky Pony PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1510706186

ISBN - 13:9781510706187

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Capiviating and delighful !!! <3 I had so much fun reading this book. It was everything I needed to read. The concept is truly amazing and I need my hands on the second one
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow Neat concept. Liked the story and the original plot
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Wonderful, Captivating Start to a Trilogy Rating: 3.5 Timekeeper is one of my anticipated books of 2016. It’s a story set in a world where clock towers control time, and if a clock tower is destroyed, time will stop. It’s a story boy who wants to save father from a city that’s clock tower broke. The premise of this book is exciting, it makes you shiver, it makes you wonder, it makes you very very curious. What could a world which time is run by clocks entail? This book explores those ideas. When any part of the clock machinery has gone wonky, ripples occur in time. In the very beginning of the book we see Danny, our main character, trying to fix the tower where an hour on the clock as disappeared. Two o’clock was missing. Timekeeper was a fun book to read, but I’ll be honestly, I was a little disappointed with it. I think it may have to do with my overexcitement for the book, I had a lot of expectations and some of them fell flat. The book is filled with a sense of subtle magic when it came to fixing time. Danny can feel the threads of time, which is why he’s a clock mechanic. People are born with this ability. And it’s a really cool to read. I loved all the imagery when Danny pulled at the golden threads of time. I loved the characters, and how Danny handles his PTSD. The characters, the actions, and plot that throughout the novel were great, but what was lacking was the atmosphere. This series is set in Victorian London, but it didn’t feel like I was Victorian London. I think this is due to how close the narrative it to Danny. We see most of the story through him, and I guess the setting was very normal to him so there weren’t as many descriptions to the city. But that’s what sort of fell flat for me. I didn’t feel like I was in Victorian London. To be perfectly honestly, I didn’t feel like I was in Europe at all even though it’s set in England. The descriptions of the city were bland, and the characters felt very modern, which changed the atmosphere of the novel. Yes, this novel is sort of a steampunk, but I’ve quite a few other steampunk novels that had more of a historical presence than this book did. Although the atmosphere was lacking, I did the plot. There are a few twists that occur in the novel, where once you’re done reading you go “How did I not see that before?” It’s very entertaining, and puts you at the edge of your seat. The romance between Danny and Colton is also really sweet even though they fall for each other quickly. They kiss very early in the novel, but it wasn’t so much a romantic kiss but a curious one, which was a nice change from novels where the first kiss is a full on make-out and confessions of true love. Timekeeper was a captivating novel, and I’m very excited to see what’s in store for Danny in book two. This book left us off with many questions, and it’s set up to have some of the story set in India, which I’m really excited about. If you’re looking for a quick, fun, magic filled book about boys kissing, you definitely want to pick up Timekeeper.
Date published: 2016-11-10

Editorial Reviews

Paste Magazine Best Book 2016Barnes & Noble Teen Blog Best Queer Fantasy 2016"Timekeeper is an extraordinary debut, at once familiar and utterly original. Between its compelling world, its lovely prose, and its wonderful characters, the pages flew by." —Victoria Schwab, #1 New York Times bestselling author"Alive with myth, mystery, and glorious romance, Timekeeper will keep hearts pounding and pages turning til the stunning conclusion. Reader beware—there's magic in these pages." —Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere"Timekeeper is a triumph . . . If you read only one such book . . . let it be this one." –Bustle"Timekeeper’s premise is original and its world unique." —EW.com"While the world is wildly interesting and fantastic, with broken clock towers that have left towns frozen in time, it’s the emotional impact and diverse cast of characters that make this book soar . . . The resulting story is an exciting and inclusive one, drawing in elements of magic, mystical spirits, swoon-filled romance, and just so much more.” —BookRiot"Part mystery and part romance, this fantasy novel delves into what it means to grow up and make important decisions. With an easily relatable main character struggling to fit in, the novel has a realistic and contemplative voice. VERDICT: A must-have richly written fantasy novel that will have readers eagerly anticipating the next volume." —School Library Journal"Sim creates a cast of complex and diverse characters, as well as a mythology to explain how the clock towers came to exist . . . an enjoyable, well-realized tale." —Publishers Weekly “[M]ystery, LGBTQ romance, and supernatural tale of clock spirits and sabotage that explores how far people might go for those they love. Its strongest elements are the time-related mythology and the supernatural gay romance.” —Booklist"This LGBTQ steampunk romance sports a killer premise and admirably thorough worldbuilding, helpfully annotated in the author’s afterword. The characters—even the bad guys—are sympathetically drawn and commendably diverse in sexuality and gender." —Kirkus Reviews"An enjoyable start to a promising new trilogy." —BookPage