To Catch A Killer: A Novel by Sheryl ScarboroughTo Catch A Killer: A Novel by Sheryl Scarborough

To Catch A Killer: A Novel

bySheryl Scarborough

Hardcover | February 7, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.94 online 
$24.99 list price save 12%
Earn 110 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

"A twisty, cold-case mystery custom made for fans of Sara Shepard, PLL and Veronica Mars! The edge-of-your-seat plot, sinister backstory and smart, brave and irreverent main character made this whodunit unputdownable."-Justine Magazine

Erin Blake has one of those names. A name that is inextricably linked to a grisly crime. As a toddler, Erin survived for three days alongside the corpse of her murdered mother, and the case-which remains unsolved-fascinated a nation. Her father's identity unknown, Erin was taken in by her mother's best friend and has become a relatively normal teen in spite of the looming questions about her past.

Fourteen years later, Erin is once again at the center of a brutal homicide when she finds the body of her biology teacher. When questioned by the police, Erin tells almost the whole truth, but never voices her suspicions that her mother's killer has struck again in order to protect the casework she's secretly doing on her own.

Inspired by her uncle, an FBI agent, Erin has ramped up her forensic hobby into a full-blown cold-case investigation. This new murder makes her certain she's close to the truth, but when all the evidence starts to point the authorities straight to Erin, she turns to her longtime crush (and fellow suspect) Journey Michaels to help her crack the case before it's too late.

Sheryl Scarborough worked as a writer, story editor, and series developer in children's television before receiving her MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adult from Vermont College, where she studied under Rita Williams-Garcia, Tom Birdseye, Susan Fletcher, and A.M. Jenkins, among others. She lives and works in Kalama, Washington. To...
To Right The Wrongs
To Right The Wrongs

by Sheryl Scarborough

$20.91$23.50

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Title:To Catch A Killer: A NovelFormat:HardcoverDimensions:320 pages, 8.47 × 5.82 × 1.12 inPublished:February 7, 2017Publisher:Tom Doherty AssociatesLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0765381915

ISBN - 13:9780765381910

Customer Reviews of To Catch A Killer: A Novel

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh I was probably 20 pages in and had already had a solid guess on who the killer might be and I turned out to be right. The writing was okay but I found the story to be pretty corny.
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh I was probably 20 pages in and had already had a solid guess on who the killer might be and I turned out to be right. The writing was okay but I found the story to be pretty corny.
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Captivating Really loved this book! The characters, the plotline, the dialogue. The writing was amazing and intriguing and complex. I loved the unique premise. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Your usual murder mystery... nothing new... For Those Who Enjoyed: Cuckoo’s Calling, Castle, Law and Order, NCIS, etc Would I Select it for Publication? Given there are so many cop procedurals out there about murder cases, this one’s a little too cookie cutter for me. The title even sounds exactly like every other true crime program on tv right now. There is obviously a market for books like these, otherwise we wouldn’t have dozens and dozens of crime series out there. As far as crime novels go, you kind of have to start with a bang. There’s a reason why every crime show opens with the murder itself and backtracks. Instead, in this, Scarborough opens with a witness investigation. Which, in terms of the crime plot structure, isn’t necessarily the most interesting part of the murder mystery formula. (In my humble opinion.) Right away, I wanna know how did the person die, and who are they. All we know from this chapter is that it’s the protagonist’s teacher, and there was a lot of blood. Obviously, if you’re a die-hard mystery reader (which I’m not), and you like to have a quick, poolside read during your holidays, then maybe this is right up your alley. It’s just not quite up mine…
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Read I had to pick a novel I had never read before for english class, and I am so happy I came across this book! I have always had terrible luck when choosing a book for english, but i actually enjoyed all the light we cannot see. I couldnt put it down! a must read!
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great novel This novel had me hooked from the very first page, I highly recommend this novel to everyone.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Story that Conveniently Keeps You Guessing To Catch a Killer left me with mixed feelings. I enjoyed the overall story but I wasn't impressed with the mystery. It left more to be desired. However, as a hardcore crime show fan I was crazy excited about the forensic aspect in the book. My main problem with To Catch a Killer was the lack of suspense to the story. I was expecting something gritty and dramatic but what I got was a little plain. Almost anticlimactic. Don't get me wrong, the story kept me guessing till the end but there just wasn't any real twists or turns. The clues were very in-your-face and too easy. I feel like the overall storyline wasn't developed enough. Some of the facts and ideas weren't incorporated into the story and only came up when needed or when it's convenient. Maybe I watch too many crime shows but a lot of my predictions came true. Nothing surprised me. A major point of the story was left unresolved but the possibility presented definitely peaked my interest. I'll be looking forward to book two for some answers. Now what I love the most about this book was the forensics. It was thrilling and stimulating to read about the procedures and experiments Erin conducted. You can tell Ms. Scarborough did her research. The quotes at the beginning of each chapter were super insightful. I confess that I rated this book a little higher because of all the forensic talk~ Erin was a likable character. I sympathized with her need to know but I did not enjoy seeing how lovesick she was for the school's golden boy Journey. Especially after he gets entangled in her investigation. Barely any time passed before they're into each other. There wasn't enough development to their relationship to convince me of their romance. And the way Erin fretted over her feelings for him irked me. We're in the middle of solving a murder, maybe two, and all you can think about is your crush/boyfriend? *cue eye roll* There's a case of awesome friendship in To Catch a Killer. Erin's best friends, Spam and Lysa were essential to her (investigation). Without them she wouldn't have been able to solve anything or even stayed alive. They're smart, quick and resourceful but most of all they cared deeply for Erin. The way they always stood by her makes them total keepers. Don't go into To Catch a Killer expecting a dramatic murder mystery because you will be disappointed. But if procedural dramas are your thing then this book will be a fun read with useful forensic facts and a bonus of amazing friendship rep.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This book really shows that things aren’t always as they seem. I think the novel, To Catch a Killer, is a very intriguing and intense book. I don’t believe that this book is for ages lower than 11 or 12, but the book itself is very interesting. The character is likable which definitely adds suspense to whether or not she will be okay. This book really shows that things aren’t always as they seem.
Date published: 2016-12-08

Editorial Reviews

"A twisty, cold-case mystery custom made for fans of Sara Shepard, PLL and Veronica Mars! The edge-of-your-seat plot, sinister backstory and smart, brave and irreverent main character made this whodunit unputdownable."-Justine Magazine"Scarborough's steely, vulnerable sleuth is at her bestwhen in dogged pursuit. A didn't-see it-coming finish for forensics fansand converts."-New York Times bestselling author Rita Williams-Garcia"A compulsive read. Scarborough has created a thrillingbook brimming with life, murder, and adventure."-Carrie Jones, New York Times bestselling author of Flying"To Catch a Killeris a tense, storming heartbeat of a thriller. Scarborough's tightly woven storymerges forensic intrigue with friendship, romance, and family, nailing thedynamic stylings of Veronica Mars and the playful spirit of Bones. I could notput it down."-Cori McCarthy, author of Breaking Sky"A relatable cast and well thought-out plot make thismystery a Sherlockian puzzle sure to impress the most hardened crime-proceduralfanatic. Don your deer-stalker caps, gumshoes, you're in for a twistyride."-Mary Elizabeth Summer, author of Trust Me, I'm Lying"Erin and her friends dished up romance, pizza, and aheap of deliciously fun forensic knowledge, plus a couple of thrilling murdermysteries that kept me sitting on my hands so as not to sneak a peek at itsconclusion. It was worth the wait!"-Estelle Laure, author of This Raging Light