Touched by Scott CampbellTouched by Scott Campbell

Touched

byScott Campbell

Paperback | March 31, 1997

Pricing and Purchase Info

$28.00

Earn 140 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Robbie Young is an ordinary twelve-year-old boy about to drop a bombshell that will devastate his small town family. One day he rides his bike home after school, finds his mother in the kitchen making dinner, and speaks aloud the secret he's been keeping for a year, "Jerry Houseman's been touching me." Robbie has been molested and the Young family will never be the same. From that moment on, the novel unfolds with inexorable power. The story is narrated in four parts: first by Robbie's mother, then by Jerry Houseman himself, then by Houseman's wife Linda, and concluded by Robbie himself fifteen years later, when he has returned to town for a high school reunion. Each voice is remarkably persuasive and utterly convincing, and the result is a novel that is impossible to put down as it is impossible to forget.
Scott Campbell was raised in Jackson, Michigan. He is the author of two novels, both of which have been adapted by others for performance—one for the stage, one for the screen—and of a nonfiction collaboration with Phyllis R. Silverman.
In the Village of Viger
In the Village of Viger

by Duncan Campbell Scott

$19.95

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Not available in stores

Hug Machine
Hug Machine

by Scott Campbell

$15.49$22.99

In stock online

Available in stores

The Investigator's Legal Handbook
The Investigator's Legal Handbook

by Gordon Scott Campbell

$67.00

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:TouchedFormat:PaperbackDimensions:324 pages, 8.5 × 5.5 × 0.75 inPublished:March 31, 1997Publisher:Random House Publishing Group

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0553378228

ISBN - 13:9780553378221

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Touched

Reviews

From Our Editors

It begins when 12-year-old Robbie Young comes home from the mall one late afternoon to tell his mother the secret he's been keeping for a year: "Jerry Houseman's been touching me". In the tradition of "Ordinary People" and "The Good Mother", here is a powerful and moving novel of a family shattered by crisis, a book which marks the debut of a brilliant new voice in contemporary fiction