Toxic Charity: How Churches And Charities Hurt Those They Help (and How To Reverse It) by Robert D. LuptonToxic Charity: How Churches And Charities Hurt Those They Help (and How To Reverse It) by Robert D. Lupton

Toxic Charity: How Churches And Charities Hurt Those They Help (and How To Reverse It)

byRobert D. Lupton

Paperback | October 2, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.28 online 
$19.99 list price save 18%
Earn 81 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help—not sabotage—those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) in Atlanta, the voice of the Urban Perspectives newsletter, and the author of Compassion, Justice and the Christian Life, has been at the forefront of urban ministry activism for forty years. Now, in the vein of Jeffrey Sachs’s The End of Poverty, Richard Stearns’s The Hole in Our Gospel, and Gregory Boyle’s Tattoos on the Heart, his groundbreaking Toxic Charity shows us how to start serving needy and impoverished members of our communities in a way that will lead to lasting, real-world change.
Robert D. Lupton is founder and president of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) and the author ofTheirs Is the Kingdom;Compassion, Justice, and the Christian Life; and the widely circulated "Urban Perspectives."
Loading
Title:Toxic Charity: How Churches And Charities Hurt Those They Help (and How To Reverse It)Format:PaperbackDimensions:208 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.47 inPublished:October 2, 2012Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062076213

ISBN - 13:9780062076212

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone involved in charity work should read this This book provides an excellent analysis of the downside of charity: even when it is done with the best of intentions, it can lead to an unequal, damaging relationship between the helpers and the helped, instead of creating the conditions of justice and respect that benefit everyone involved. Although the book is written from a evangelical Christian perspective, the practical approaches it describes are applicable to anyone who is seeking to donate their time, energy and money to making the world a better place.
Date published: 2017-05-04

Editorial Reviews

“Top 10 book of the year.”