Toxic Charity: How Churches And Charities Hurt Those They Help (and How To Reverse It)

Toxic Charity: How Churches And Charities Hurt Those They Help (and How To Reverse It)

Paperback | October 2, 2012

byRobert D. Lupton

not yet rated|write a review
Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help—not sabotage—those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) in Atlanta, the voice of the Urban Perspectives newsletter, and the author of Compassion, Justice and the Christian Life, has been at the forefront of urban ministry activism for forty years. Now, in the vein of Jeffrey Sachs’s The End of Poverty, Richard Stearns’s The Hole in Our Gospel, and Gregory Boyle’s Tattoos on the Heart, his groundbreaking Toxic Charity shows us how to start serving needy and impoverished members of our communities in a way that will lead to lasting, real-world change.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.20 online
$19.99 list price (save 18%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

Toxic Charity: How Churches And Charities Hurt Those They Help (and How To Reverse It)

Paperback | October 2, 2012
In stock online Not available in stores
$16.20 online $19.99 (save 18%)

From the Publisher

Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help—not sabotage—those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Str...

From the Jacket

Public service is a way of life for Americans; giving is a part of our national character. But compassionate instincts and generous spirits aren’t enough, says veteran urban activist Robert D. Lupton. In this groundbreaking guide, he reveals the disturbing truth about charity: all too much of it has become toxic, devastating to the ver...

Robert D. Lupton is founder and president of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) and the author ofTheirs Is the Kingdom;Compassion, Justice, and the Christian Life; and the widely circulated "Urban Perspectives."

other books by Robert D. Lupton

see all books by Robert D. Lupton
Format:PaperbackDimensions:208 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.47 inPublished:October 2, 2012Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062076213

ISBN - 13:9780062076212

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Toxic Charity: How Churches And Charities Hurt Those They Help (and How To Reverse It)

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Top 10 book of the year.”